Alencar 2019: nano-hydroxyapatite for dentine hypersensitivity, and the one stimulus where it made no difference.
The Alencar 2019 meta-analysis found that nano-hydroxyapatite relieved dentine hypersensitivity more than the treatments it was compared with on an air blast and on a touch probe, but made no difference on cold (SMD −0.17, p = 0.61), pooling six randomised trials that each ran four weeks1. Its authors rated the pooled evidence high quality and asked for longer trials, and they did not explain the cold result in the abstract we could read1. S3 Sensitivity Science™ contains nano-hydroxyapatite alongside potassium nitrate and fluoride, and this review did not test it.
What was checked20 peer-reviewed studies, product information as published by each brand, NHS guidance
- On the cold stimulus, the 2019 Alencar meta-analysis found nano-hydroxyapatite no different from the treatments it was compared with (SMD −0.17, 95% CI −0.81 to 0.48)1.
- On the evaporative air stimulus the same review found a clear difference (SMD −1.09) and on the tactile stimulus another (SMD −0.93), both over four weeks1.
- "Cold" means two different tests: a jet of air scored on the Schiff scale, and ice or cold water, and a 2026 network meta-analysis reports only the air version for nano-hydroxyapatite2.
- In the 2020 network meta-analysis the cold network held only 16 studies and 1,093 participants3.
- S3 pairs hydroxyapatite with a nerve active because a sensitive tooth has two things wrong at once, a nerve that fires too readily and dentine tubules that are open; that is the formula's design, not an answer to the cold result.
What did Alencar and colleagues review, and how?
They ran a systematic review with meta-analysis of randomised trials in people with dentine hypersensitivity, comparing treatments that contain nano-hydroxyapatite with treatments that do not, or with a placebo or negative control1. Seven databases were searched on 27 April 2018, the risk of bias was judged with the Cochrane tool, and the certainty of the evidence was graded with GRADE1. The paper, by de Melo Alencar and colleagues, appeared in the Journal of Dentistry in 20191.
A note on the word in your search. When someone asks for hydroxyapatite toothpaste reviews, this page answers with systematic reviews of trials: star ratings and shoppers' comments are not used here, because they cannot separate a paste's effect from a placebo response or from the passing of time.
The full text sits behind the publisher's paywall; Europe PMC lists it as subscription only, and no accepted manuscript was reachable on 2026-09-131. Everything below about the review itself comes from its abstract and its Crossref reference list. The PubMed record carries no funding or conflict-of-interest statement, which means the funding is unknown rather than declared as none.
| Item | As reported |
|---|---|
| Question | Does a nano-hydroxyapatite desensitiser relieve dentine hypersensitivity better than a treatment without it, a placebo or a negative control? |
| Databases and date | Seven databases, searched 27 April 2018 |
| Inclusion (PICO) | People with dentine hypersensitivity; nano-hydroxyapatite desensitisers; nano-hydroxyapatite-free treatments or placebo/negative control; relief of sensitivity |
| Trials pooled and follow-up | Six randomised trials, four weeks of follow-up |
| Risk-of-bias tool | Cochrane guidelines |
| Evaporative (air) stimulus | SMD −1.09 (−1.24 to −0.94), p < 0.00001 |
| Tactile stimulus | SMD −0.93 (−1.42 to −0.43), p = 0.0002 |
| Cold stimulus | SMD −0.17 (−0.81 to 0.48), p = 0.61 |
| Overall | SMD −0.93 (−1.19 to −0.68), p < 0.00001 |
| GRADE | High quality for pooled results; moderate for the secondary outcomes (against other treatments or placebo; at-home and in-office use) |
| Authors' conclusion | Better clinical performance than other treatments; long-term trials needed before definitive recommendations |
| Declared interests | None in the PubMed record; full text not read, so unknown |
Which trials were pooled, and what did each measure?
We could not confirm the six from the review itself, because the trial list is in the paywalled full text1. What we can check is the review's reference list, deposited with Crossref (saved 2026-09-13): it cites eight nano-hydroxyapatite clinical studies that already have cards in our library, and the six pooled trials are very probably among them1. The table sets out what each card records; treat every row as a candidate, not a confirmed inclusion.
| Trial (candidate) | Design and n | Product and format | Comparator | Stimuli and scale | Cold measured? | Card |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vano 20144 | Double-blind RCT, 105 | 15% nano-HAp toothpaste, fluoride-free | Fluoride paste; placebo | Air blast and tactile; VAS | Cold air only (evaporative) | ST-101 |
| Vano 20185 | Double-blind RCT, 105 | 2% nano-HAp gel, ten minutes twice daily | Fluoride gel; placebo | Air blast and tactile; VAS | Cold air only (evaporative) | ST-103 |
| Gopinath 20156 | Double-blind RCT, 36 | Nano-HAp toothpaste | 5% calcium sodium phosphosilicate paste | Tactile, air blast, cold water | Yes, cold water (thermal) | ST-035 |
| Wang 20167 | RCT, 28 people, 137 teeth | Professionally applied 20% HAp paste with potassium nitrate and sodium fluoride, with or without a 10% HAp home paste carrying the same two | Arginine regimen; fluoride varnish | Evaporative stimulus; VAS (from the abstract) | Cold air only (evaporative) | ST-107 |
| Anand 20178 | Double-blind RCT, 60 | Nano-HAp toothpaste, supervised application | 8% arginine toothpaste | Electrical pulp-tester threshold | No | ST-008 |
| Bevilacqua 20169 | Split-mouth RCT, 30 | Professionally applied nanostructured desensitiser with fluoride gel | Experimental bioactive material | VAS; stimulus not recorded on the card | Not recorded on the card | ST-013 |
| Jena 201510 | Clinical study, 45; allocation method not stated in its abstract | Single in-office application of 15% nano-HAp paste | 8% arginine; 5% NovaMin paste | Schiff air score and VAS | Cold air only (evaporative) | ST-044 |
| Browning 201211 | RCT, 42 | Nano-HAp paste after bleaching | Placebo paste | Days and intensity of bleaching sensitivity | No stimulus test | ST-015 |
Three trials that other pages link with this review are absent from its reference list. Orsini 2010, a double-blind trial of 70 adults that compared a zinc-carbonate hydroxyapatite paste with a potassium nitrate and fluoride paste over eight weeks and found no difference on cold water12, is not cited. Amaechi 2018, a 51-person double-blind trial of a nano-hydroxyapatite cream in trays tested with ice-cold and air stimuli13, is a 2018 paper that a search run on 27 April 2018 may simply have predated. Shetty 2010, an in-office hydroxyapatite trial in 45 patients14, is also not cited.
Where did nano-hydroxyapatite make a difference, and where did it not?
On the air blast and the touch probe, the pooled trials favoured nano-hydroxyapatite by a margin whose whole confidence interval sat on the helpful side of zero (air −1.09, tactile −0.93)1. On cold the estimate was small, −0.17, and its interval ran from −0.81 to 0.48, crossing zero, with p = 0.611. In plain words: on cold, the review cannot tell nano-hydroxyapatite apart from what it was compared with.
A standardised mean difference puts trials that used different pain scales on one footing, so it describes the size of a gap in units of spread, not points on a scale anyone scored. That is why the numbers cannot be turned into "less pain" in millimetres.
Two limits run through every figure. The comparators were pooled together, so placebo, negative controls and active pastes such as arginine or calcium sodium phosphosilicate sit in one group, and the review cannot say how nano-hydroxyapatite compares with any single one of them1. And every trial stopped at four weeks, which is also the limit of what the review can say about how long any benefit holds1.
"High quality" belongs to the pooled overall result. The secondary analyses, the comparisons with other treatments or placebo and the at-home versus in-office split, were rated moderate1. A high rating for the overall pool does not make the cold result, or any single analysis, strong.
What can be said about why cold was the exception, and what cannot?
Nobody has published why. The abstract reports that cold was the exception and does not give a reason1, and the full text was out of reach. Two PubMed searches on the day of review came back empty on this point, one for hydroxyapatite with dentine hypersensitivity and cold, ice, thermal or "cold water", one for nano-hydroxyapatite reviews and meta-analyses published since 2019; neither turned up an explanation for a weaker hydroxyapatite result on cold. We therefore give no mechanism in the tooth.
What can be said sits in the trials, and it is about counting and method rather than biology.
How few trials could have fed the cold analysis
Of the eight candidate trials, only Gopinath 2015 records a cold-water test on its card6. The two Vano trials, Wang 2016 and Jena 2015 used an air stimulus, which is evaporative rather than thermal45710. The double-blind Anand 2017 trial used an electrical threshold8. The review's abstract reports evaporative and cold results separately, so if the air-stimulus trials sat under evaporative, the cold analysis may rest on very few trials, and a pooled estimate from few small trials has a wide interval almost by construction1. That is an inference from the cards, not a statement from the review1.
How differently "cold" was applied
Ice held against a tooth, cold water dripped onto it and a jet of room air all get called cold in this field. They are different stimuli, delivered for different times and scored on different scales, and pooling them adds noise to any estimate.
What the comparators were
In Gopinath 2015, a double-blind trial of 36 adults and the one candidate with cold water on its card, nano-hydroxyapatite was set against a calcium sodium phosphosilicate paste, an active treatment, and the two were judged comparable on all three stimuli6. A trial against an active paste will find a smaller gap than one against a placebo, and if cold-water data came mainly from active-comparator trials, that alone could pull the cold estimate towards zero6. Again, this is a reading of the design, not a finding.
The review group's next trial went in another direction. In 2020 the same group tested nano-hydroxyapatite with and without laser photobiomodulation in 32 people and 83 teeth, and adding the laser did not enhance the effect; nano-hydroxyapatite alone still showed less sensitivity at one month on the tactile and evaporative stimuli, and cold was not among the tests reported15.
Do later reviews see the same thing on cold?
They do not agree, and the disagreement is mostly about which "cold" is meant. Read side by side, the reviews since 2019 give four different pictures.
The 2020 network meta-analysis of 125 randomised trials held only 16 studies and 1,093 participants in its cold network, and in that network calcium sodium phosphosilicate was the only active node with moderate certainty3. There was no node for potassium combined with hydroxyapatite on cold at all3. Martins and colleagues' review (Journal of Dental Research, doi:10.1177/0022034520903036) carries no conflict-of-interest statement in its PubMed record, which lists research support from an unnamed non-US-government source3.
The 2026 network meta-analysis by Gormley and colleagues (93 randomised trials, Periodontology 2000) found nano-hydroxyapatite toothpaste ahead of a benchmark fluoride paste on the Schiff score at two weeks, mean difference −0.96, with moderate confidence, from two studies2. The Schiff score is an air stimulus, so this is not a cold-water result, and the full text shows that no network was reported for thermal cold2. The text we hold carries no conflict statement for the review itself; on an earlier network meta-analysis, the University of Bristol team of its co-author N. X. West declared advisory fees, lecture fees or research grants from GSK and Colgate-Palmolive, both makers of sensitivity toothpaste.
One industry trial saw a gap open late for one concentration. Amaechi and colleagues' eight-week double-blind trial, with 85 completers, was industry-funded by Sangi, the Japanese company that makes Apagard toothpastes: every paste reduced ice-cold sensitivity from baseline, but the plain paste with a 10% nano-hydroxyapatite inclusion relieved cold less than the calcium sodium phosphosilicate paste at weeks six and eight, while the 15% paste and the 10% paste with potassium nitrate matched it throughout16. That is one trial, and a sponsor's own.
A 2023 systematic review of 20 randomised trials of calcium phosphates, with no external funding, found pain fell by about 2.5 points on a visual analogue scale from baseline to four weeks on air, touch and cold water alike17. That fall is measured against each person's own starting point, not against a comparator: the authors state that comparing calcium phosphates with placebo or other products was not their research question17.
Two further meta-analyses pooled nano-hydroxyapatite without a stimulus split in what our cards record. Saxena 2026 gave three mainly nano-hydroxyapatite trials a pooled SMD of −0.87 against controls, from a review whose authors declare no competing interests18. Limeback 2023 pooled hydroxyapatite products against placebo in a review where two of the three authors are employees of Dr Kurt Wolff, a German maker of hydroxyapatite toothpastes19. Neither can be read for cold.
And every result above is short. A 2025 review of trials with at least six months of follow-up found the calcium-phosphate class did not reach a statistically significant long-term benefit20.
| Review | Year and design | What it says about cold | Stimulus meant |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alencar1 | 2019, meta-analysis of six RCTs | No difference, SMD −0.17, p = 0.61 | Cold, separate from air |
| Martins3 | 2020, network of 125 RCTs | Cold network of 16 studies; calcium sodium phosphosilicate the only active node with moderate certainty; no potassium plus hydroxyapatite node | Thermal cold |
| Gormley2 | 2026, network of 93 RCTs | Nano-HAp −0.96 on the Schiff score at two weeks, moderate confidence, two studies; no thermal cold network | Air, not cold water |
| Amaechi16, industry-funded by Sangi, maker of the test pastes | 2021, RCT, 85 completers | All pastes fell from baseline; 10% plain paste behind calcium sodium phosphosilicate at weeks 6 and 8 | Ice-cold |
| Maillard17 | 2023, systematic review of 20 RCTs | About −2.5 VAS points from baseline at four weeks on cold water too | Cold water, from baseline |
| Saxena18, authors declare no competing interests | 2026, meta-analysis | Not split by stimulus | Not split |
| Limeback19, two co-authors employed by Dr Wolff, a hydroxyapatite toothpaste manufacturer | 2023, meta-analysis | Not split by stimulus | Not split |
| Corrêa20 | 2025, 22 RCTs, six months or more | Calcium-phosphate class not significant long term | Not split |
So the contrast stands. The one review that split thermal cold found no difference1; one network's "cold" is air2; one trial industry-funded by Sangi, the manufacturer of its pastes, saw a gap open late for one concentration16; a from-baseline review saw cold water fall like everything else17. None of that supports "hydroxyapatite helps with cold", and none of it supports "hydroxyapatite does not work for cold".
Which hydroxyapatite toothpastes are on the UK shelf, and what do they declare?
The table lists what each brand's own page or retailer listing declared when it was read on 2026-09-09, drawn from the rows behind our UK sensitivity toothpastes by ingredient review. This page compares ingredients and stated actions only, not clinical performance, based on what each brand states about its own formula. Formulas and listings may change, so the ingredient list on the tube you hold is the check.
None of the candidate trials' cards names a hydroxyapatite paste sold on this shelf, so the last column cannot link a trial result to any row4567891011.
| Product (CR row, read 2026-09-09) | Hydroxyapatite form as declared | Concentration as declared | Fluoride | Potassium salt | A product of this brand in the candidate trials? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dr Wolff Bioniq Repair (CR-024) | Hydroxyapatite, form not stated | Not stated | No | None declared | Not identifiable |
| Karex toothpaste (CR-042) | Biomimetic (BioHAP), as the brand states | Not stated | No | None declared | Not identifiable |
| Apagard Premio (CR-043) | Nano | Not stated (brand says higher than Apagard standard, no figure) | No | None declared | Not identifiable |
| Biorepair Plus Sensitive Teeth (CR-041) | Zinc hydroxyapatite | Not stated | No | None declared | Not identifiable |
| Spotlight Sensitivity + Rebuilding Pro (CR-027) | Hydroxyapatite, form not stated | Not stated | Yes, 1450 ppm | Potassium citrate | Not identifiable |
| Nura Mineralising Paste (CR-035) | Nano and biomimetic micro | 12% hydroxyapatite | No | Potassium chloride | Not identifiable |
| Truthpaste Hydroxyapatite Peppermint (CR-032) | Hydroxyapatite, form not stated | 5% | No | None declared | Not identifiable |
| Georganics Hydroxyapatite Mint with fluoride (CR-031) | Hydroxyapatite, form not stated | Not stated | Yes, 1350 ppm | None declared | Not identifiable |
| S3 Daily Sensitive Toothpaste (CR-028) | Nano and biomimetic | 10% nano-hydroxyapatite and 5% biomimetic hydroxyapatite, inclusion levels as supplied; active content lower | Yes, 1450 ppm | 5% potassium nitrate | No |
Six of the nine rows give no hydroxyapatite concentration at all, which is the point to keep: nobody can match a paste on this shelf to a trial dose from its pack. S3 publishes both kinds of figure: the 10% and 5% in its row are inclusion levels of the ingredient as supplied, and the active hydroxyapatite content is lower.
Does the cold exception apply to a toothpaste like S3?
Nobody can say, because no trial has tested it. S3 pairs 10% nano-hydroxyapatite and 5% biomimetic hydroxyapatite, both inclusion levels as supplied, with potassium nitrate and fluoride. No trial in this review, or since, has tested this toothpaste on a cold stimulus, or on any other. The nearest candidate is Wang 2016, a randomised trial in 28 people whose professionally applied 20% hydroxyapatite paste, and a 10% home paste, both also carried potassium nitrate and sodium fluoride; it measured an air stimulus, not cold7. The nearest cold result comes from Amaechi 2021, where a 10% nano-hydroxyapatite paste with potassium nitrate did not differ from calcium sodium phosphosilicate on ice-cold testing over eight weeks, in a double-blind trial industry-funded by Sangi, maker of the test pastes16.
S3 does not rely on hydroxyapatite alone; it adds a nerve active. Potassium's own cold evidence is no stronger: in the 2020 network meta-analysis its cold estimate could not be told apart from fluoride's3. That is the uncomfortable half of the argument, and it stays on the page. Combining two actives is a design choice with a mechanistic reason behind it; it is not evidence that the combination relieves cold, and we do not claim it does.
For more on nano-hydroxyapatite in general, see does nano-hydroxyapatite toothpaste work for sensitive teeth, and for the physics of a cold drink in a tubule, what happens inside a dentine tubule when you drink something cold.
When is a different toothpaste, or none, the better answer?
This page is written by S3 Science, the company behind the toothpaste named on it, and it has an interest in how you read what follows. There are still clear cases where our paste is not where to start.
If cold is the trigger that bothers you most, calcium sodium phosphosilicate had the firmest cold evidence in the 2020 network meta-analysis, as the only active node there rated moderate certainty3. It is not in our formula. Sensodyne Repair & Protect is one UK paste whose Boots listing names it, next to 1450 ppm fluoride.
If you want the result held with the most confidence in the newest network meta-analysis, stannous fluoride was the only active rated high confidence against benchmark fluoride on the two-week air score, from ten studies; nano-hydroxyapatite's estimate was larger but rested on two studies at moderate confidence2. Stannous fluoride is not in our formula either. Sensodyne sells a stannous fluoride paste that declares 0.454% stannous fluoride.
If the pain from a cold drink lingers after the drink has gone, or throbs on its own, a toothpaste is the wrong tool. That pattern points to something a dentist needs to look at, such as decay, a cracked filling or an inflamed pulp; our guide to sharp and brief versus dull and lingering pain sets out the difference. The NHS advises booking a dental appointment when toothache has not settled after 2 days21.
And if a hydroxyapatite paste has not helped after the four weeks the trials ran, our page on still getting sensitivity with a hydroxyapatite toothpaste covers what to try next. The Sensitivity Journal's pieces on teeth sensitive to cold and on choosing a toothpaste for sensitive teeth give the wider picture, and for ice cream specifically see ice cream and iced drinks.
Frequently asked questions
Does hydroxyapatite toothpaste help with sensitivity to cold drinks?
It has not been shown to beat other treatments on cold. The 2019 meta-analysis found no difference on the cold stimulus (SMD −0.17, p = 0.61) while finding one on air and touch1. Later reviews either measured air rather than cold water2 or measured the fall from each person's own baseline17, which is a different question.
Are there reviews of hydroxyapatite toothpaste I can trust?
Yes, if you mean systematic reviews of randomised trials. The Alencar 2019 meta-analysis declares no industry link in its PubMed record, though its funding is not stated there1; the 2020 and 2026 network meta-analyses place nano-hydroxyapatite among every other active32. Check who funded each one and how long its trials lasted: the Limeback 2023 review includes employees of a hydroxyapatite toothpaste maker19.
Was S3 included in the Alencar review?
No. The review pooled trials published before April 2018, and it made no statement about this or any other named retail paste1. S3's formula combines potassium nitrate, two hydroxyapatites and fluoride; no candidate trial tested that formula, though the Wang 2016 randomised trial used hydroxyapatite pastes that also carried potassium nitrate and fluoride7.
Is nano-hydroxyapatite better than other sensitivity actives?
The evidence does not settle it. Alencar pooled all comparators together, so it cannot rank nano-hydroxyapatite against any one active1. Where trials set it against a named active, such as calcium sodium phosphosilicate or arginine, they mostly found it comparable68.
How long did the trials last?
Four weeks, in every trial Alencar pooled1. A 2025 review of trials lasting six months or more did not find a significant long-term effect for the calcium-phosphate class20, so four weeks is the honest horizon for any claim built on this review.
Where S3 sits
Potassium calms the nerve; nano-hydroxyapatite works inside the tubule; biomimetic hydroxyapatite works on the surface. Hydroxyapatite occludes and potassium desensitises, and neither does the other's job, which is why the formula carries both; a review result that holds for air and touch but not for cold is a reason not to rely on one mechanism, not evidence that the combination solves cold.
S3 Sensitivity Science™ pairs potassium nitrate with two hydroxyapatites and adult-strength fluoride in one daily paste.
See the toothpasteOne tube, three actives: potassium nitrate for the nerve, nano-hydroxyapatite inside the tubule, biomimetic hydroxyapatite on the surface, with 1450 ppm fluoride kept in. Calm, strengthen, protect: the three actions sensitive teeth need, in one daily toothpaste. The formula is patent-pending S3 Repair Technology™, UK application GB2604755.5. More than 20 practising UK dentists own a stake in S3, and nine founding dentists advise on the formulation. Read more on the company's site.