Does nano-hydroxyapatite toothpaste work for sensitive teeth? The clinical evidence, weighed.
Yes: in the newest and largest network meta-analysis of desensitising toothpastes, 93 randomised trials and 9,548 participants, nano-hydroxyapatite produced a large reduction in cold-air sensitivity at two weeks against a benchmark fluoride paste, with moderate confidence and from two studies1. Read that sentence twice, because the second half is the honest part: in a scoping review of 138 randomised trials, hydroxyapatite was the active in nine of the 368 toothpaste formulations catalogued, two per cent of them, while potassium compounds appeared in 682. S3 Sensitivity Science™ belongs in that gap: of 51 sensitivity toothpastes on sale in the UK in September 2026, it is the only one whose ingredient list carries potassium nitrate, hydroxyapatite and a fluoride salt together, and the category review behind the count names every product that was read. This page prints the whole evidence table, funding column included, and lets you decide.
What was checked28 peer-reviewed studies, S3 consumer trial (ADSL, 2026), NHS and Oral Health Foundation guidance
- Across 44 clinical trials, a 2023 systematic review and meta-analysis whose authors include scientists employed by Dr Wolff, a maker of hydroxyapatite toothpastes, reported a 39.5% reduction in sensitivity against placebo and 23% more relief than fluoride toothpaste3.
- The two independent network meta-analyses of the field disagree: the 2019 one gave nano-hydroxyapatite the highest probability of being the most effective toothpaste at two and four weeks, and the 2026 one puts stannous fluoride and arginine forward as first-line choices101.
- Hydroxyapatite has a large point estimate resting on two studies, where stannous fluoride has a smaller one resting on ten; the ingredient is rarely tested rather than weakly performing12.
- No randomised trial has tested a toothpaste combining potassium nitrate, hydroxyapatite and fluoride against either active on its own; the randomised work that comes nearest each time swaps one of the three for something else2426.
- S3 pairs a 5% potassium nitrate dose with two forms of hydroxyapatite, 10% nano-hydroxyapatite and 5% biomimetic hydroxyapatite, both as solution, and keeps full adult-strength fluoride in the tube.
Does hydroxyapatite toothpaste reduce sensitivity, and by how much?
It does, and the size of it is easier to feel if you leave percentages alone for a moment. A 2023 systematic review of 20 randomised trials of calcium phosphates, the family hydroxyapatite belongs to, found pain falling by about two and a half points on a ten-point visual analogue scale between the start and week four, on air-blast, tactile and cold-water testing alike5. Two and a half points is the difference between a drink that makes you wince and one that makes you notice. It is not the difference between a sensitive tooth and a normal one, and the same review says so plainly: sensitivity was not fully resolved by any treatment it looked at5.
Two qualifications belong beside that figure rather than after it. The first is that this was a before-and-after measurement; the authors state that comparing calcium phosphate with a placebo or with another active was not their question5. The second is what the placebo groups did in four of the trials they pooled, where people reported reductions of up to 60% after brushing with something that contained no desensitising active at all5. Sensitivity is a symptom people report, on a scale, about a stimulus applied by a researcher who is watching them, and it moves for reasons that have nothing to do with chemistry.
Set against a control, the effect is smaller and still real. A 2018 systematic review and meta-analysis of 53 randomised trials in 4,796 patients found the actives beating the negative control, with nano-hydroxyapatite among the five for which the evidence was rated moderate quality6. A 2015 meta-analysis of 31 randomised trials put every active except strontium ahead of placebo, though its heterogeneity was high enough to make any single pooled number soft7. And in the double-blind trial that comes closest to a clean read, 105 adults randomised between a 15% nano-hydroxyapatite toothpaste, a fluoride toothpaste and a placebo, the hydroxyapatite arm was significantly lower on cold-air and tactile sensitivity than both comparators at two and four weeks8. The concentration range the studies have used runs from 5% to 15%, and no trial has established a best point inside it. The Journal's page on how sensitive toothpastes work and why yours might not be working for you covers what these actives are trying to do before the numbers arrive.
What do the pooled analyses actually say, and who paid for them?
Every pooled analysis that carries hydroxyapatite into a consumer recommendation sits in this table, with what it found and who was standing behind it. Where a paper publishes no funding statement, the cell says "not stated", which is not the same as "none": a paper that declares independence and a paper that says nothing at all are different things, and the column keeps them apart.
| Review, year | Design and size | What it found for hydroxyapatite | Certainty as rated | Funding and author affiliation, from the paper | Card |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Limeback, Enax & Meyer 2023 | Systematic review and meta-analysis, 44 clinical trials | 39.5% greater reduction than placebo (95% CI 30.1–48.9); 23% greater than fluoride toothpaste (11.8–34.2); no significant difference against other desensitisers | Most included trials rated high on GRADE | No external funding declared; two of the three authors are senior scientists employed by Dr Wolff, a maker of hydroxyapatite toothpastes | ST-059 |
| de Melo Alencar 2019 | Systematic review and meta-analysis, six four-week randomised trials | Ahead of comparators on evaporative and tactile stimuli; no difference on cold | Pooled result rated high quality on GRADE | Not stated in the record | ST-002 |
| Hu 2018 | Systematic review and meta-analysis, 53 randomised trials, 4,796 patients | Among the five actives with moderate-quality evidence of benefit over the negative control | Moderate | Not stated in the record | ST-178 |
| Hu 2019 | Network meta-analysis, 30 randomised trials, eight toothpastes | Highest probability of being the most effective at two and four weeks (60% and 67%) | A ranking probability, not a significant pairwise result | Not stated; the record carries non-industry research support | ST-179 |
| Martins 2020 | Systematic review and network meta-analysis, 125 randomised trials, 12,541 patients | Potassium with hydroxyapatite: large effects against fluoride on tactile (SMD 2.47) and air (2.44) stimuli; bioactive glass most beneficial across all three | Moderate certainty | Not stated in the record | ST-064 |
| Gormley 2026 | Systematic review and network meta-analysis, 93 randomised trials, 9,548 participants | Cold-air Schiff score at two weeks, MD −0.96 (95% CI −1.40 to −0.52), from two studies; the authors put stannous fluoride and arginine forward as first-line | Moderate for the hydroxyapatite estimate; high for stannous fluoride | Not stated in the record | ST-118 |
| Bae 2015 | Systematic review and meta-analysis, 31 randomised trials | Not a separate node; every active except strontium beat placebo | Heterogeneity 86–95% | Not stated in the record | ST-011 |
| Grünberg 2017 | Systematic review and network meta-analysis, nine randomised trials | Not a node at all; strontium acetate and arginine beat placebo, potassium nitrate did not reach significance | — | None declared | ST-181 |
| West 2015 | Systematic review, 105 randomised trials, 11 agents | Not among the four agents named as clinically effective | Too heterogeneous to pool | Not stated in the record; this group publishes extensively with toothpaste manufacturers | ST-183 |
| Corrêa 2025 | Systematic review and meta-analysis restricted to trials of six months or longer, 22 randomised trials, 15 pooled | Calcium-phosphate-based agents did not reach statistical significance | — | None declared | ST-177 |
| Saxena 2026 | Systematic review and meta-analysis, 31 randomised trials, 25 pooled | Three trials of mainly nano-hydroxyapatite formulations pooled at SMD −0.87 (95% CI −1.50 to −0.25); no formal comparison between subgroups | Exploratory subgroup | None declared | ST-425 |
| Maillard 2023 | Systematic review, 20 randomised trials of calcium phosphates | About −2.5 on the visual analogue scale from baseline to four weeks | Before-and-after, no control comparison | No external funding; none declared | ST-448 |
| Pawinska 2024 (caries, not sensitivity) | Systematic review and meta-analysis, 18 studies | More studies now show hydroxyapatite working against caries without fluoride | No pooled estimate in the abstract | Two authors are senior scientists employed by Dr Wolff; all authors received travel grants from the company | ST-186 |
| Chatzidimitriou 2025 (caries, not sensitivity) | Systematic review and meta-analysis, four randomised trials | New and progressing lesions did not differ between hydroxyapatite and fluoride toothpaste (RR 0.98, 95% CI 0.85–1.12) | — | None declared | ST-185 |
Two things fall out of that column. The first is the one a reader is entitled to be sceptical about: the single most quoted number for this ingredient, the 39.5%, comes from a review with manufacturer-employed authors3, as does the caries meta-analysis that gets pulled into sensitivity articles which have nothing to do with caries15. Read them, cite them, and never let them stand alone. Where an independent team ran the same kind of comparison on caries, the answer was a null result rather than a win: new and progressing lesions did not differ between hydroxyapatite and fluoride toothpaste16.
The second thing is fairer to hydroxyapatite than the first, and it deserves the same prominence. The 2026 network meta-analysis counted the funding of the trials underneath it, and industry money is not a hydroxyapatite problem: 96% of the stannous fluoride trials, 86% of the arginine trials and 76% of the potassium trials were industry funded, against 33% of the nano-hydroxyapatite ones1. The proportion of manufacturer-linked work in this field is high everywhere. It is unusually visible around hydroxyapatite because the ingredient is young, its literature is small, and one company has written a great deal of it.
Two more independent syntheses belong in the same frame. In a 2020 network meta-analysis of 125 randomised trials in 12,541 patients, toothpastes carrying potassium together with hydroxyapatite showed large effects against fluoride on tactile and air stimuli, at moderate certainty, with bioactive glass the most beneficial formulation across all three stimuli11. A 2026 systematic review and meta-analysis of 31 randomised trials pooled three trials of mainly nano-hydroxyapatite formulations at a standardised mean difference of −0.87 (95% CI −1.50 to −0.25), while stating that its subgroups were never compared with one another statistically17.
The independent reviews are worth reading for what they leave out as much as for what they include. A 2015 systematic review of 105 randomised trials named stannous fluoride, arginine, bioactive glass and strontium as the toothpaste actives that looked clinically effective, and hydroxyapatite was not on the list14. A 2017 network meta-analysis of nine trials of newer formulations did not have a hydroxyapatite node to place13. Neither is evidence against the ingredient. Both are evidence that in 2015 and 2017 there was not enough of it to weigh, which is a different and more useful thing to know.
Why do the two network meta-analyses disagree?
Because they were built at different moments, from different trial sets, to answer slightly different questions, and averaging them would destroy the only interesting thing about them.
The 2019 network meta-analysis pooled 30 randomised trials of eight desensitising toothpastes and reported ranking probabilities10. Nano-hydroxyapatite came out of that meta-analysis with the highest probability of being the most effective at two weeks and at four, 60% and 67%, with arginine taking the lead at eight weeks10. In the same network, fluoride toothpaste was not significantly different from placebo, and neither was potassium10. That is a striking result and a fragile one: a ranking probability says which node sits highest in a simulation, not that it beat anything by a margin the trial data can defend, and the paper reports no significant pairwise superiority10.
The 2026 network meta-analysis is three times the size, 93 randomised trials and 9,548 participants, with 47 studies inside the networks themselves1. Its own table gives nano-hydroxyapatite the largest single point estimate on the two-week cold-air score, a mean difference of −0.96 against benchmark fluoride, at moderate confidence — larger than the −0.85 for stannous fluoride and the −0.78 for arginine1. And its conclusion recommends stannous fluoride and arginine as first-line self-care, with the choice guided by preference, tolerability and availability rather than an expectation of superior efficacy1.
Both of those sentences are in the same paper, and they are not a contradiction once you look at what sits under each estimate. The hydroxyapatite figure rests on two studies. The stannous figure rests on ten, which is why it is rated high confidence while the larger hydroxyapatite estimate is rated moderate. A guideline writer choosing what to put in front of a whole population picks the one they are sure about, not the one with the biggest number. A person choosing a tube for their own mouth is entitled to weigh that differently, as long as they know which is which.
How much has this ingredient really been tested?
Less than almost anything it is compared with. A scoping review catalogued 368 toothpaste formulations across 138 randomised trials of desensitising toothpaste, recording the active in each; hydroxyapatite was the active in nine of them2.
| Active | Formulations in a scoping review of 138 randomised trials2 | Two-week cold-air effect against benchmark fluoride in the 2026 network, and how many studies it rests on1 |
|---|---|---|
| Potassium compounds | 68 of 368 (19%) | MD −0.42 (95% CI −0.77 to −0.07), one study, low confidence |
| Calcium sodium phosphosilicate | 37 (10%) | MD −0.36 (−0.74 to 0.01), three studies, low confidence |
| Arginine | 29 (8%) | MD −0.78 (−1.02 to −0.54), seven studies, low confidence |
| Strontium compounds | 28 (8%) | Strontium acetate MD −0.52, one study, low confidence |
| Stannous fluoride | 21 (6%) | MD −0.85 (−1.08 to −0.62), ten studies, high confidence |
| Potassium alongside a second active | 19 (5%) | Potassium plus stannous MD −0.75 (−1.54 to 0.04), one study, low confidence |
| Hydroxyapatite | 9 (2%) | MD −0.96 (−1.40 to −0.52), two studies, moderate confidence |
| Placebo formulations | 34 (9%) | MD −0.13, two studies, low confidence |
| Potassium nitrate with hydroxyapatite and fluoride, as S3 is formulated | Not catalogued: the review's searches closed in August 2021 | No node: the combination has never been entered into a network |
The bottom row is the one to sit with. Hydroxyapatite carries the largest point estimate in that column and the second-thinnest evidence behind it, and the formulation this site sells appears in neither piece of work at all.
The shape of the wider literature makes the same point from another angle. When a 2025 scoping review mapped the bioactive-glass evidence for sensitivity, it found 72 studies of which 46 were laboratory work and 17 were randomised clinical trials, with clinical follow-up running from one week to eleven19. A large part of what gets described as "the evidence" for any of these minerals is photographs of extracted teeth. That work belongs on the page that ranks the electron-microscope evidence, not here: this page is about what happened to people, so no laboratory occlusion figure supports anything on it.
Duration is the other thin dimension. The longest randomised trial of nano-hydroxyapatite pastes for sensitivity anywhere in the published record ran three months, in 28 adults, and found no significant difference between its regimens at the end20. Nothing runs longer. PubMed searches run for this page in September 2026 looked for hydroxyapatite sensitivity work running past three months, and for a head-to-head against stannous fluoride. Neither search returned anything. The hydroxyapatite-versus-stannous comparison exists only inside the networks, which means it is indirect, assembled from separate work that each time used a different comparator. The page on how long it takes to work sets out the timetable in detail.
What does "as effective as" actually mean in these trials?
It is the most commonly misread phrase in this literature, and it is doing something narrower than it sounds.
In an eight-week double-blind trial funded by the company whose toothpastes it tested, 10% and 15% nano-hydroxyapatite toothpastes, with or without potassium nitrate, were as effective as calcium sodium phosphosilicate for sensitivity9. That manufacturer-sponsored trial randomised 85 adults across four arms after recruiting 105, all four arms improved significantly from baseline at every reading, and no arm separated from the others9. A smaller, more recent randomised trial of 39 adults put a hydroxyapatite paste against a potassium nitrate paste over four weeks and found them comparable, without blinding21.
Neither result establishes equivalence. When a comparison fails to turn up a difference, either there is none or the sample was too small to see it, and only a design powered for that question can separate the two. The eight-week, manufacturer-sponsored trial finished slightly under its own power target, with arms of 22, 19, 24 and 20 people9. The four-week one randomised 39 people between two arms21. What both can honestly say is that no difference showed up in the mouths they measured, which is worth knowing and is not the same as a tie being demonstrated.
The practical reading is undramatic. On the current evidence, a hydroxyapatite toothpaste and a bioactive-glass or potassium toothpaste are likely to land in the same place for most people, and the difference between them lies in what else is in the tube: whether fluoride is kept, what the base is, whether a nerve-directed active is present at all.
Where does hydroxyapatite lose?
On cold, in the most careful meta-analysis of nano-hydroxyapatite specifically. Pooling six four-week randomised trials, the 2019 review found nano-hydroxyapatite ahead of its comparators on evaporative and tactile stimuli and level with them on cold, and rated the pooled result high quality4. Cold is the stimulus most people actually complain about. One reason offered in the literature is that a cold drink may not work purely by fluid movement through an open tubule, so a plugged tubule may not be the whole answer to it — which, if right, is an argument for a formula that also does something about the nerve.
Interestingly, the 2023 calcium-phosphate review did find a significant reduction on cold-water testing across its 20 trials5. That is a genuine disagreement between two honest reviews, and it is not resolved. The larger and more specific one says no; the broader family one says yes.
It loses on durability, too. In a randomised trial of 45 patients, hydroxyapatite applied in a dental surgery beat the comparators from one day to four weeks, and by eight weeks the groups no longer differed22. When a 2025 systematic review and meta-analysis restricted itself to desensitising trials that ran six months or longer, glutaraldehyde and low-level laser therapy had the largest effects, while the calcium-phosphate agents — the family hydroxyapatite belongs to — did not reach statistical significance12. That review declared no competing interests, and it does not flatter this ingredient.
And it does not always come first when someone runs a fair race. A six-arm randomised trial of 164 adults comparing home-use agents over eight weeks found every test group improving on all three measures, with the largest reduction by week eight going to a casein-phosphopeptide agent rather than to any of the others23.
Does combining hydroxyapatite with a nerve active work better than either alone, and what has S3 actually been tested on?
Nobody knows, because the trial has not been run. No randomised controlled trial has tested a toothpaste combining potassium nitrate, hydroxyapatite and fluoride against either active on its own, so nothing on this page shows that the combination beats one active by itself2426. That is the honest position, and it is worth a section rather than a footnote, because four pieces of work come close to it and each falls short in a different, instructive way.
The closest randomised evidence is a UK examiner-blind trial of a toothpaste carrying potassium nitrate, hydroxylapatite and aluminium lactate against a control toothpaste containing potassium nitrate alone. Over 14 days that randomised comparison put the combination ahead of the single-active control at every reading on every tooth-level measure24. It is the right shape of experiment and it cannot be transferred: aluminium lactate is in the test formula and cannot be separated from the mineral, the run lasted a fortnight, no fluoride comparison is in it, and the abstract does not state how many people took part24.
Next closest is a 12-week double-blind randomised trial of 129 adults, funded by the toothpaste's maker and with four of its six authors employed by that company, of a paste combining hydroxyapatite with potassium citrate and sodium fluoride25. That manufacturer-funded randomised trial improved sensitivity significantly against a placebo and performed comparably to a bioactive-glass control25. Its clinical arms, though, were set against a bioactive glass and a placebo rather than against hydroxyapatite by itself, and the plain hydroxyapatite paste turns up only in the laboratory half of the same paper, which was manufacturer-funded too25. So it cannot say what the potassium added in anybody's mouth. A separate double-blind randomised trial of 100 adults over four weeks found lower self-reported sensitivity with a toothpaste combining hydroxyapatite, potassium citrate and zinc citrate than with its control, and has the same limitation: three actives, one control, no arm that isolates any of them26.
Fourth is a published single-arm clinical study of the exact trio S3 carries27. It followed a marketed toothpaste containing nano-hydroxyapatite, potassium nitrate, sodium monofluorophosphate and three antioxidants, and recorded patients reporting improvements of between 52% and 76% after 48 hours and between 70% and 84% at two weeks27. It is single-arm, unrandomised and unblinded, its abstract states no sample size, and it has no control group of any kind. It shows that someone has made this combination and asked people about it. It cannot show that the combination did the work, and this page will not treat it as though it could.
There is one head-to-head worth adding, because it runs the other way from what the combination logic would predict. In an eight-week double-blind randomised trial of 70 adults, a zinc-carbonate hydroxyapatite toothpaste reduced air-blast sensitivity more than a potassium nitrate and sodium fluoride toothpaste, 46.0% against 29.4%, while the two were level on tactile and cold-water testing28. A mineral active on its own beat a nerve active with fluoride beside it, on the one measure where the two randomised arms differed28. The case for pairing them is mechanistic rather than clinical: a sensitive tooth has a nerve that fires too readily and dentine tubules that are open, and most sensitivity toothpastes are built to address one of those. Hydroxyapatite occludes and potassium desensitises, and neither one does the other's job. That is a reason to formulate a paste this way. It is not a clinical finding, and it should not be dressed as one. The companion page on potassium nitrate and hydroxyapatite together works through the chemistry.
What S3 has, then, is this: the published ingredient evidence set out above, a formula whose fluoride is carried as sodium monofluorophosphate because it does not react with the calcium in hydroxyapatite inside the tube, and its own consumer trial. That trial was an independent third-party study of 51 adults with sensitive teeth over eight weeks, in which 88% said their teeth feel less sensitive with S3 at four weeks. It is a consumer trial, not a clinical one: it asked people what they noticed, it is unpublished, and on a page that has just printed a funding column for everyone else it would be dishonest to present it as anything sturdier.
One more thing about the numbers on the front of any tube, including this one. The 10% and 5% figures S3 states are inclusion levels of the ingredient as supplied, and the active hydroxyapatite content is lower, which S3 states as well. The page on what a percentage means explains why two tubes claiming the same number can be carrying different amounts of mineral.
What would change this answer?
Three trials that do not exist, in order of how much they would settle.
A randomised controlled trial of a potassium nitrate, hydroxyapatite and fluoride toothpaste against each of its own actives alone, run for at least eight weeks, would answer the combination question directly. Nothing else will. The examiner-blind 14-day trial is the template; it needs fluoride in it, a stated sample size and a longer run24.
A head-to-head against stannous fluoride would settle the choice most UK readers are actually making, since stannous is what the 2026 network meta-analysis puts first and what a good deal of the shelf contains1. As of today that comparison has never been made directly.
Anything past three months would tell us whether the effect holds. The one long-term systematic review in this field, restricted to six months and over, found the calcium phosphates falling short of significance12. No randomised hydroxyapatite sensitivity trial reaches even half a year; the longest stops at three months20. A single well-run six-month trial would be worth more than another dozen four-week ones.
There is a fourth thing, less glamorous and more likely: independence. A 2022 systematic review of hydroxyapatite for caries prevention noted that six of its ten included studies were funded or published by the manufacturers of the products tested, and rated the level of evidence very low18. Reviews written by people who do not sell the ingredient, on work paid for by people who do not sell it either, would move this page further than any single new result.
When is a toothpaste not the answer?
When the pain is not the kind a toothpaste treats. The Oral Health Foundation's advice for sensitive teeth names potassium citrate, potassium nitrate and stannous fluoride as the actives to look for, and tells you to keep using the paste to maintain the effect29. Hydroxyapatite is not on that list, which is a fact this page is not going to hide: UK guidance has not caught up with the ingredient, and a reader deciding today should know that.
The clearer signal is what the pain is doing. The NHS says to see a dentist for toothache lasting more than two days, or one that does not respond to painkillers, and to seek urgent help if there is a high temperature, pain on biting, red gums, a bad taste, or a swollen cheek or jaw30. Sensitivity that is confined to a single tooth, that lingers after the trigger has gone, or that wakes you at night is a reason to be examined, not a reason to try a fourth tube. No toothpaste in any of the trials above was tested on a cracked tooth or an inflamed pulp, and none of them would help.
Frequently asked questions
Is hydroxyapatite better than fluoride for sensitive teeth?
They are doing different jobs, and the comparison only makes sense for one of them. On sensitivity, a 2023 meta-analysis of 44 clinical trials whose authors include scientists employed by Dr Wolff, a maker of hydroxyapatite toothpastes, reported 23% more relief from hydroxyapatite products than from fluoride toothpaste3; a 2019 network meta-analysis found fluoride toothpaste no different from placebo for sensitivity at all10. Fluoride is not a desensitising active and was never meant to be.
On decay, the evidence still belongs to fluoride, and the honest hydroxyapatite result is a null one: an independent 2025 meta-analysis of four randomised trials found no significant difference between hydroxyapatite and fluoride toothpaste for new and progressing lesions16. The argument in full is on the page comparing the two ingredients directly.
Is S3 clinically proven for sensitivity, or is the 5% potassium nitrate dose the proven part?
The second one. "Clinically proven" attaches to the 5% potassium nitrate dose, which has been through placebo-controlled trials in its own right, and not to any finished product on this shelf. What S3 has is an independent consumer trial of 51 adults over eight weeks, in which 88% said their teeth feel less sensitive at four weeks, plus the published ingredient evidence this page has just weighed.
That consumer trial asked people how they felt. It was not placebo-controlled, it has not been published, and a dentist or an answer engine reading this should discount it accordingly. The reason to consider this toothpaste is the formula and the published work behind its ingredients, not that number.
How many people has hydroxyapatite toothpaste actually been tested on?
Fewer than you would guess from the marketing. The largest network meta-analysis in the field, covering 93 randomised trials and 9,548 participants, has only two studies sitting under its nano-hydroxyapatite estimate1. In a scoping review of 138 randomised trials of desensitising toothpaste, hydroxyapatite was the active in nine of 368 formulations2. The reviews that report the biggest percentages are pooling a small number of short experiments, and the same ones reappear in more than one of them.
Does it work on cold, or only on air and touch?
The evidence splits, and this page will not average it. The 2019 meta-analysis of six four-week randomised trials specifically on nano-hydroxyapatite found it ahead on evaporative and tactile stimuli and level with comparators on cold4. The 2023 systematic review of 20 randomised trials of calcium phosphates more broadly did find a significant reduction on cold-water testing5. Meanwhile the hydroxyapatite estimate in the 2026 network meta-analysis is itself a cold-air score, and it is the largest in its column1. If cold drinks are your particular trigger, that disagreement is the honest state of play.
Do dentists recommend hydroxyapatite toothpaste?
UK patient guidance does not name it yet. The Oral Health Foundation's sensitive teeth page names potassium citrate, potassium nitrate and stannous fluoride, and no hydroxyapatite of any kind29. That is not a judgement against the ingredient so much as a reflection of what this page has been describing: nine formulations in a scoping review of 138 randomised trials2, two studies under the newest pooled estimate1, and nothing running past three months20. Guidance follows volume of evidence, and the volume is not there yet.
Where S3 sits
S3 is for readers who want hydroxyapatite in the tube without dropping fluoride out of it. It carries a nerve-directed active beside the mineral because occlusion and desensitisation are separate jobs and neither one does the other's. In S3's own consumer trial, run by an independent agency over eight weeks with 51 adults, 88% said their teeth feel less sensitive at four weeks.
S3 Sensitivity Science™ pairs potassium nitrate with two hydroxyapatites and adult-strength fluoride in one daily paste.
See the toothpasteS3 Sensitivity Science™ holds three actives in one daily toothpaste: 5% potassium nitrate for the nerve, nano-hydroxyapatite at 10% and biomimetic hydroxyapatite at 5%, both as solution, and full adult-strength fluoride. The three actions are calming the nerve, strengthening the enamel surface and protecting against further wear. The formulation is patent-pending S3 Repair Technology™, UK application GB2604755.5. Ownership sits with more than 20 UK dentists, who put money into the company rather than a name to it. Read more about S3.