Whitening strips and sensitive teeth: what to know before you start.
Whitening strips sold in UK shops may carry no more than 0.1% hydrogen peroxide, or use a peroxide-free agent such as PAP, so they are not the strips that the published sensitivity trials tested1. Those trials used strips with 3% to 10% hydrogen peroxide, and with sensitive teeth the better first step is a dental examination, which is where the reason for the sensitivity gets found236. In a 2020 meta-analysis of randomised trials, peroxide strips caused sensitivity less often than dentist-supervised home trays (risk ratio 0.78) and produced a smaller colour change, one its authors judged too small for the eye to see4. No published trial has tested a strip at the UK legal strength, or a PAP strip, for sensitivity in people, and none that this page could locate describes recruiting people because they already had sensitive teeth. S3 Sensitivity Science™ is a toothpaste, not a strip, and its published ingredient list contains no peroxide and no PAP: its actives are potassium nitrate and two forms of hydroxyapatite, with 1450 ppm fluoride.
What was checked23 peer-reviewed studies and reviews, UK legislation, four OPSS product safety reports, two ASA rulings and CAP advice, the NHS and the Oral Health Foundation, and product information as published by each brand
- In UK law an oral product sold to the public may contain or release no more than 0.1% hydrogen peroxide; tooth whitening products above that, up to 6%, may be sold only to dental practitioners1.
- Every strip trial in people that this page could find used 3% to 10% hydrogen peroxide23. In a 2020 meta-analysis, peroxide strips caused less sensitivity than dentist-supervised trays, along with a smaller colour change4.
- Of five whitening products read on their UK pages on 10 September 2026, four name PAP, two name hydrogen peroxide, one is a peroxide-free colour corrector, and none declares a peroxide level.
- Laboratory work on non-peroxide products is mixed: in a UK study several shop-bought products etched enamel, while two independent laboratory studies of PAP recorded little change to it172021.
- S3's ingredient list contains none of the agents strips use, and no published trial has tested any toothpaste, S3 included, alongside strips.
What is in a whitening strip sold in the UK?
A very small amount of hydrogen peroxide, or an agent that is not hydrogen peroxide at all, because the law limits what a shop may sell1. The cosmetics regulation that applies in Great Britain allows oral products, tooth whitening products included, to contain or release no more than 0.1% hydrogen peroxide1. Tooth whitening products above 0.1% and up to 6% may be sold only to dental practitioners; each course starts with a first use by or under a dentist, and they are not to be used on anyone under 181. Who may carry out whitening, and what counts as illegal practice, is set out on the page on whether tooth whitening is legal in the UK.
So the boxes on a shop shelf fall into a few groups. Some strips and pens list hydrogen peroxide without a level. Others use phthalimidoperoxycaproic acid, written PAP on the front of the pack. Some older products used sodium chlorite1722. And colour correctors do not bleach at all: they tint the tooth surface so that yellow looks less yellow. Whitening toothpastes are a separate subject, covered on the page on whitening toothpastes and sensitivity.
The Oral Health Foundation says shop-bought strips, gels and paint-on products may remove some surface stains but usually do not change the natural colour of teeth much, and that they hold only a very small amount of whitening ingredient6. The NHS page on teeth whitening goes further: a kit from a pharmacy or online does not work as well as treatment by a dental professional and may harm the teeth and gums5.
The table below lists five products read on their UK product pages in September 2026, based on what each brand states about its own formula. This page compares ingredients and stated actions only, not clinical performance. Prices and formulations may change, always check the pack.
| Product (as the holder spells it) | Stated active | Ingredient list on the page? | Peroxide level declared? | What the page says about sensitivity | Price as shown, 10 September 2026 | Row |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Spotlight Oral Care Ultra Teeth Whitening Strips - 14 Day | PAP, hydrogen peroxide and hydroxyapatite, named as active ingredients | No full list | No | Headline "ZERO SENSITIVITY TEETH WHITENING"; its FAQ answers "Generally, no" to whether the strips cause sensitivity | £44.95 | CR-071 |
| Spotlight Oral Care Teeth Whitening Pen | Hydrogen peroxide named as the active; PAP also in the list | Yes | No | Answers yes to use on sensitive teeth; says its ingredients "won't cause sensitivity" | £14.99 (2.1 ml) | CR-072 |
| Hismile PAP+ Whitening Strips | The brand's PAP+ formula | Not found in the page text (the list panel did not load) | No | Page title "Sensitivity-Free"; says PAP+ works without releasing free radicals, which it calls "often a cause of sensitivity" | £19.00 (seven treatments) | CR-073 |
| Hismile V34 Colour Corrector Serum | Colour correction, described as peroxide-free | Not found in the page text | Not applicable | No sensitivity statement in the description read; says it is designed to "temporarily conceal the yellow tones" on the tooth surface | £14.99 | CR-074 |
| Boots Advanced Teeth Whitening Strips 12s (own label) | PAP and hydroxyapatite in the list; described as peroxide free | Yes | Not applicable | Says it has "a sensitive formula that doesn't cause tooth sensitivity"; its cautions say not to use with gum problems and to stop on pain or excessive sensitivity | £7.00 (12 strips) | CR-075 |
| For comparison: S3 Daily Sensitive Toothpaste, a sensitivity toothpaste and not a strip | No peroxide and no PAP in the list; potassium nitrate, two hydroxyapatites, sodium monofluorophosphate | Yes | Not applicable | Not applicable | £14.99 as shown, reduced from £19.99 | CR-028 |
Do whitening strips hurt sensitive teeth?
In the trials, a minority of people using peroxide strips reported sensitivity, but every one of those trials used 3% hydrogen peroxide or more, and none is described as picking its volunteers for having sensitive teeth24. What the trials can speak to is the difference between strips and other ways of bleaching, and how often people whose teeth were not already sensitive felt it.
The best summary compares strips with bleaching supervised by a dentist. A 2020 systematic review and meta-analysis of 20 randomised trials found that strips carried a lower risk of tooth sensitivity than dentist-supervised home trays (risk ratio 0.78, 95% CI 0.65 to 0.93) and a lower intensity, with the evidence graded moderate4. In the meta-analysis the trays produced a larger colour change on the spectrophotometer, a difference the authors describe as undetectable by the unaided eye, and only two of the 20 studies were at low risk of bias4. The dentist-led route is not the painless one. In this comparison it was the one that hurt more often.
A 2024 network meta-analysis of over-the-counter bleaching trials, covering 37 studies and 1,932 people, found the largest colour change with 6% hydrogen peroxide strips worn for 14 hours or more in total2. The lowest risk of sensitivity in that analysis came with a 10% carbamide peroxide gel worn seven to 13 hours and with placebo, and the authors rated the certainty of the evidence as low2.
Two trials gave some people placebo strips with no peroxide in them. In a trial of 54 adults with a dummy strip, run double-blind, funding unknown, minor sensitivity showed up in 11% on the dummy and 12% on the 9.5% peroxide strip7. In a randomised trial of 80 adults by authors employed by Procter & Gamble, 10% reported sensitivity after a year of 6% strips worn five minutes a day against 5% on placebo, a difference that was not statistically significant, and the two people who stopped because of sensitivity were both on the peroxide strip8. None of that means the ache on a peroxide strip is imagined. These trials logged sensitivity as a side effect rather than testing it as an outcome, and neither abstract says how bad it was.
The larger numbers come from the strip maker's own programme. Pooled data from seven randomised trials at one dental school, analysed by authors employed by Procter & Gamble, put tooth sensitivity at 20% and oral irritation at 22% among 148 people using 6% strips twice a day for two weeks, and one person stopped early9. In an earlier randomised trial of 34 adults, also by authors employed by Procter & Gamble, 13% reported sensitivity with 6% strips worn for an hour a day over a week, against 22% with a 5% carbamide peroxide tray gel that contained potassium nitrate and was worn for six to eight hours a day10.
One trial held the peroxide steady and changed only the way it was delivered. In a randomised trial of 50 patients using 10% hydrogen peroxide for seven days, strips and custom trays gave the same colour change, and sensitivity was recorded less often with strips, 50.2% against 70.2%3. In the same randomised trial the mildest score, though, turned up more often with strips (37.3% against 20.9%), and the authors concluded that the peak level of pain was higher with them3. Each arm of that randomised trial had 25 people in it, so a figure such as 50.2% is not a head count, and the abstract leaves unexplained what it is a proportion of3.
A newer trial built a desensitiser into the strip. In a double-blind randomised trial of 96 participants, a 3% hydrogen peroxide strip with 1.5% potassium nitrate gave the same colour change as a plain 3% strip, and the abstract describes no discernible sensitivity with it after 28 days against some obvious sensitivity with the plain strip, without putting numbers on the gap11. Even the strip in that randomised trial carried 30 times the hydrogen peroxide a UK shop may sell111.
In the laboratory, peroxide from a strip gets inside the tooth. Strength counted on the bench: a 14% strip pushed more peroxide through extracted incisors into the pulp space than a 6.5% one did, in a laboratory study14. Another laboratory test found hydrogen peroxide inside the pulp chamber after two shop peroxide strips, most of all after a 6% home gel, and none after a peroxide-free strip13. Neither laboratory study measured pain, and a tooth on a bench is not a person1314. Why peroxide in the pulp is thought to cause the ache is explained on the page on why whitening makes teeth sensitive.
| Study (design, size) | Strip and hydrogen peroxide strength | Compared with | Sensitivity | Colour | Funder as stated | Strength a UK shop may sell? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| da Rosa 2020, systematic review and meta-analysis, 20 randomised trials | Peroxide strips in low and high subgroups; levels per trial not listed in the abstract | Dentist-supervised home trays | Risk lower with strips, RR 0.78 (0.65 to 0.93); intensity lower; moderate quality | Larger change with trays on the spectrophotometer, called invisible to the eye; shade guide no different | No funding statement in the record4 | Levels not listed |
| de Oliveira 2024, network meta-analysis, 37 trials, 1,932 people | 3% and 6% strips among other over-the-counter protocols | Placebo and other protocols | Lowest risk with 10% carbamide peroxide (seven to 13 hours) and placebo; low certainty | Largest change with 6% strips worn 14 hours or more in total | Brazilian government grant; none from a manufacturer stated2 | No: 3% and 6% |
| Simon 2014, double-blind randomised trial, 54 adults | 9.5%, 30 minutes a day, 20 days | Placebo strip | 12% against 11% on placebo, logged as a side effect | Peroxide strip changed colour, placebo did not | No funding statement in the record7 | No: 9.5% |
| Farrell 2008, randomised trial, 80 adults, one year | 6%, five minutes a day | Placebo strip | 10% against 5%, not significant; two stopped on the peroxide strip | Not the outcome | Authors employed by Procter & Gamble8 | No: 6% |
| Gerlach 2009, pooled analysis of seven randomised trials, 148 people | 6%, 30 minutes twice a day, two weeks | None (strip arms only) | 20%; oral irritation 22%; one stopped | Yellowness fell over the two weeks | Authors employed by Procter & Gamble9 | No: 6% |
| Gerlach 2002, randomised trial, 34 adults | 6%, one hour a day, seven days | 5% carbamide peroxide gel with potassium nitrate in a tray, six to eight hours a day | 13% against 22% | More change with the strip (p = 0.04) | Authors employed by Procter & Gamble10 | No: 6% |
| Rossi 2018, randomised trial, 50 patients | 10%, 30 minutes twice a day, seven days | The same 10% gel in custom trays | Recorded less often with strips (50.2% against 70.2%); mildest score more often with strips | No difference | No funding statement in the record3 | No: 10% |
| Chen 2026, double-blind randomised trial, 96 participants | 3% with 1.5% potassium nitrate, 30 minutes a day, 28 days | Plain 3% strip | None discernible with potassium nitrate, some with the plain strip; no figures in the abstract | No difference | No conflicts declared; public research grants11 | No: 3% |
| Gurich 2023, double-blind randomised trial, 50 adults | Peroxide-free strip, paste and rinse regimen | Hydrogen peroxide strip, level not in the abstract | Minor sensitivity and irritation the commonest findings in both groups; no rates given | Peroxide-free regimen no change; peroxide strip changed | Authors are employees of Procter & Gamble, which funded it12 | Peroxide-free |
| Hul 2026, laboratory study, 96 extracted premolars | Four over-the-counter strips, one peroxide-free; levels not in the abstract | No bleaching; a 6% home gel | Not measured; peroxide reached the pulp chamber with two peroxide strips, none with the peroxide-free strip | Peroxide strips changed colour more than the peroxide-free strip | Editorial roles only declared; none from a manufacturer13 | Levels not stated |
| Gökay 2004, laboratory study, 24 extracted incisors | 14% and 6.5% | Water | Not measured; more peroxide in the pulp chamber from the 14% strip | Not measured | No funding statement in the record14 | No: 6.5% and 14% |
| Cua 2022, laboratory study, 64 colour and 30 erosion samples | One peroxide strip, level not in the abstract; two non-peroxide strips | Water; citric acid | Not measured; no strip eroded enamel | Peroxide strip changed colour; the non-peroxide strips matched water | No funding statement in the record15 | Level not stated; two peroxide-free |
Why do the trials not describe the strips in your basket?
Because the strips they tested were stronger than anything a UK shop may sell, and the products a shop does sell have barely been tested in people12. A 2024 scoping review of 88 studies found that the clinical support for over-the-counter whitening rests mainly on strips, while toothpastes, rinses and trays were backed mostly by laboratory work, and that tooth sensitivity and gum irritation were the main side effects16. The strips behind that clinical support were peroxide strips.
This page searched PubMed three ways in September 2026. The first search combined terms for PAP, phthalimidoperoxycaproic acid, peroxide-free and non-peroxide agents, sodium chlorite and the UK legal limit with strips, whitening or bleaching, with sensitivity, and with trial terms. It returned fifty-one records, most of them from other fields of medicine, and none was a randomised trial of a PAP strip, or of a strip at the UK legal strength, in people.
One trial of a peroxide-free strip in people did turn up. In a double-blind randomised trial of 50 adults, written and funded by Procter & Gamble, a peroxide-free strip, paste and rinse regimen left tooth colour where it started over 14 treatments while the company's own peroxide strip changed it, and minor sensitivity and irritation were the commonest findings in both arms, without a count for either12. A search for phthalimidoperoxycaproic acid on its own returned ten records: laboratory studies, reviews and one small clinic study of a PAP gel activated by a laser, with no trial of PAP used at home by people.
The second search, for strips with dentine hypersensitivity or sensitive teeth, returned three records, and none of them is described as recruiting people because they had sensitive teeth. One was the 2024 network meta-analysis above2. Another was the potassium nitrate strip trial, whose abstract does not give its recruitment criteria11. The third was about a strip for treating sensitivity, not for bleaching.
The third search, for strips with desensitising agents, potassium nitrate, dentifrice or toothpaste, and sensitivity, returned eleven records. None tested a sensitivity toothpaste brushed alongside strips. The nearest were the 2002 comparison with a tray gel containing potassium nitrate, by authors employed by Procter & Gamble, and the 2026 strip with potassium nitrate inside it, and neither put a toothpaste next to a strip1011.
Who paid for the research matters as well. Four of the nine studies in people in the table were written by authors employed by Procter & Gamble; of the other five, two declare public funding or no conflicts and three carry no funding statement in their records7891012. None of this means that a UK strip causes sensitivity, or that it does not. What it means is that the published trials answer a different question from the one on the box.
What do we know about PAP, peroxide-free strips and colour correctors?
Only what laboratory studies show, and they point in different directions172021. No published trial has put a PAP strip on people's teeth and asked whether it hurt.
A laboratory study of shop-bought products from the UK tested five non-hydrogen-peroxide whitening products from two major British outlets on extracted teeth17. Under the electron microscope several left a distinct etching pattern on the enamel, and two significantly reduced its microhardness in laboratory testing17. In that laboratory study two lightened the teeth less than saline and two more than a dentist's 10% carbamide peroxide gel, and the authors judged lightening most likely with sodium chlorite-based products17. That spread is not an argument for or against any single box on a shelf today, and those products were bought before the laboratory study appeared in 201917.
In a German laboratory study of 60 coffee-stained teeth, whose first author went on to develop a PAP whitening set and form a company, a manufacturer interest the paper declares, PAP and sodium chlorite at most removed the stain, and only hydrogen peroxide lightened the teeth beyond their colour before staining18. The case for PAP being gentle on enamel comes partly from the company behind one PAP range: in a laboratory study written by two employees of that company, a PAP gel did not erode enamel or lower its microhardness over six ten-minute applications, while 6% and 35% hydrogen peroxide gels did19.
Two independent laboratory studies also found little enamel change with PAP, and disagreed about colour2021. One, an in vitro study on extracted incisors, found that a PAP product lightened teeth about as much as a 37.5% hydrogen peroxide in-office gel20. The other, an in vitro study on enamel samples, found that an over-the-counter PAP gel stopped improving after 14 days and did less than a dentist's 10% carbamide peroxide gel, which kept improving to day 2821.
Peroxide-free strips did worst on colour in laboratory tests. In one study two non-peroxide strips changed colour no more than water did while a peroxide strip changed it several times as much, and none of the three eroded enamel15. In another, a peroxide-free strip changed colour less than two peroxide strips13. In a trial in people of a sodium chlorite gel, an examiner-blinded randomised trial of 60 volunteers, two weeks of use gave only a small improvement in colour, and the spectrophotometer picked up no significant change22.
Colour correctors are a different idea, since they tint the tooth rather than bleach it, and the brand page in the first table describes its serum as designed to conceal yellow tones temporarily, on the surface.
The advertising regulator has looked at both kinds of product. The CAP advice on teeth whitening says marketers must hold evidence for performance claims and must not claim long-term results when their evidence shows only short-term whitening or temporary colour correction23. In 2021 the Advertising Standards Authority upheld complaints about social media ads for a whitening kit pairing an LED light with a PAP formula, which described it as clinically tested and as proven, and as working 2.2 times faster than traditional whitening24. The ASA found that one clinical trial had tested the whitening ingredient rather than the product itself and had no control group, that another tested a different product, and that a study on the product in people was neither blinded nor controlled; it ruled the claims unsubstantiated and misleading24. One of the ads also carried a line about whiter teeth without sensitivity, and that line was not a separate issue in the ruling24.
In 2024 the ASA upheld complaints about ads for a purple colour-correcting serum that showed stained teeth turning white on contact25. Most of the evidence came from tests by its developer, whom the advertiser's website described as a scientific advisor, run on the author and one other person, and the sources themselves said the effect lasted several hours25. The ASA found the claims, as consumers would understand them, unsubstantiated25. One of those ads also said colour correction caused zero sensitivity; the complaints were about whitening, and the ruling did not assess that line25.
What about whitening pens, gels and kits bought online?
They are where UK regulators have found peroxide far above the legal limit: a gov.uk search in September 2026 listed four product safety reports on tooth whitening products, each for peroxide above the legal limit, measured or declared26272829. The search used the gov.uk search service, filtered to product safety alerts, reports and recalls, for teeth, whitening and hydrogen peroxide; all four reports came from local Trading Standards.
| Published by the Office for Product Safety and Standards | Product type | Peroxide found or declared | Action taken |
|---|---|---|---|
| 26 March 2022 | Tooth whitening kit | 11% hydrogen peroxide released, 110 times the 0.1% maximum for oral products | Withdrawn from the market26 |
| 24 July 2024 | Whitening pen | 0.9% peroxide, nine times the limit; peroxide not in the ingredient list | Seized and destroyed27 |
| 27 February 2025 | Whitening toothpaste | 3% hydrogen peroxide declared on the product | Import rejected at the border28 |
| 15 September 2025 | Whitening pen sold via eBay | 7.32% hydrogen peroxide | Seized and destroyed; listing removed by the marketplace29 |
Buying online adds a second problem, which is the label. In a 2023 cross-sectional study built on test purchases of high-peroxide home whitening gels found through web searches, every online listing had an incomplete or missing ingredient list, one product arrived with no active ingredient in it, and in four others the peroxide measured ran from about 80% below the label to 9% above it31. In a laboratory study of products from a large online marketplace, the lowest-rated whitening serum caused severe changes to the enamel surface and the largest drop in microhardness, 14.2% against 8.84% in the untreated control, while the highest-rated strip performed about as well as a dentist-prescribed 20% carbamide peroxide gel30.
In people, two other over-the-counter systems did less for colour than a dentist's gel. In a randomised trial of 39 adults, a paint-on gel and ready-filled trays whitened less than a dentist's 20% carbamide peroxide home gel and had lost colour by six months, though they also caused less sensitivity; neither system's strength was published by its maker32. Many people meet these products through video, and in a 2020 cross-sectional analysis of 100 YouTube videos on teeth whitening, 12% carried good-quality information while the poor-quality videos drew more views33.
Does S3 contain any of the agents strips use?
No. S3 is a daily toothpaste, and its published ingredient list has no hydrogen peroxide, no carbamide peroxide, no PAP and no sodium chlorite. Its declared actives are potassium nitrate at 5%, nano-hydroxyapatite and biomimetic hydroxyapatite at 10% and 5% as solution, with sodium monofluorophosphate giving 1450 ppm fluoride. The active hydroxyapatite content is lower than those inclusion levels, and S3 states both.
Each of its three actives is aimed at everyday dentine sensitivity: potassium calms the nerve, nano-hydroxyapatite works inside the tubule, and biomimetic hydroxyapatite works on the surface. Sensitivity during bleaching is thought to arise differently, and a result for one is not evidence about the other.
No trial has tested any toothpaste, S3 included, as a way to make strips hurt less, and none has tested S3 alongside a strip at all.
If you have sensitive teeth, what should you do before starting, and if strips hurt?
See a dentist before the first strip, because the examination is where the cause of the sensitivity is found, and stop the strips if they hurt.
Sensitivity is a symptom with several possible causes, among them gum recession that leaves the root exposed, worn enamel, a cracked tooth and decay, and a strip cannot tell you which one you have. The Oral Health Foundation advises speaking to the dental team before whitening, so that they can make sure it is safe6. The NHS says whitening is not done on anyone aged 17 or younger or on unhealthy teeth or gums, and is not recommended during pregnancy or breastfeeding5. The own-label strip in the first table tells people with gum problems not to use it, and to stop if they feel pain or excessive sensitivity. The Journal's page on why teeth suddenly become sensitive goes through the causes a dentist will look for.
If strips sting, stop, and do not move on to a stronger kit or wear them for longer. The NHS tells people to talk to their dentist about whitening side effects that bother them5. An ache that stays after the strips have stopped, pain in one tooth, or pain that wakes you at night is a reason to book an appointment, not to try a different box.
A dentist-led course is the other route. What a dentist can adjust is laid out on the hub page on how to whiten sensitive teeth, chair-side and home-tray bleaching are set against each other for sensitivity on the page on in-chair whitening versus home trays, and the Journal's article on sensitive teeth after whitening deals with what happens once a course has finished.
Frequently asked questions
Are PAP strips better for sensitive teeth?
Nobody knows yet. No published trial has put a PAP strip on people's teeth and asked whether it hurt, so the idea that PAP spares sensitive teeth rests on laboratory work and on what brands say. In independent laboratory studies PAP changed enamel little, and in one of them an over-the-counter PAP gel lightened teeth less than a dentist's 10% carbamide peroxide gel2021.
Can I use whitening strips if I have receding gums?
Ask a dentist first. Receding gums leave root surfaces exposed, and the Oral Health Foundation advises speaking to the dental team before any whitening so they can check it is safe6. The own-label strip in the table above tells anyone with gum problems not to use it.
What should I do if whitening strips make my teeth hurt?
Stop using them, and do not switch to a stronger kit or wear the strips for longer. If the ache has not gone within a few days of stopping, or it sits in one tooth, book a dental appointment; the NHS tells people to talk to their dentist about whitening side effects that bother them5. No trial has tested a toothpaste as a remedy for strip pain.
Does S3 contain peroxide or PAP?
No. S3's published ingredient list contains neither hydrogen peroxide nor PAP; its actives are potassium nitrate and two forms of hydroxyapatite, with 1450 ppm fluoride. No trial has tested S3, or any other toothpaste, alongside strips.
Are strips bought from abroad or online stronger?
Some are, and a product like that may not legally be sold to the public in the UK. UK product safety reports list a whitening pen sold via eBay with 7.32% hydrogen peroxide and a kit releasing 11%, both taken off the market, against a 0.1% limit for oral products29261. Test purchases of whitening gels online have also found peroxide levels far from what the label said31.
S3 Sensitivity Science™ pairs potassium nitrate with two hydroxyapatites and adult-strength fluoride in one daily paste.
See the toothpasteS3 Sensitivity Science™ puts potassium nitrate at 5% beside two hydroxyapatites, nano at 10% and biomimetic at 5%, both as solution, and keeps full adult-strength fluoride in the same daily toothpaste. It is built around three actions at once: calming the nerve, strengthening the enamel surface and protecting against further wear. The formula is patent-pending as S3 Repair Technology™, UK application GB2604755.5. More than 20 practising UK dentists own a stake in S3. Read more about S3.