Does potassium nitrate work within a week? Every published time point, from day three to week twelve.
Potassium nitrate is measured in weeks, and its published record is thinnest exactly where this question sits. The 2019 systematic review that sorts desensitising treatments by how soon each one reaches significance puts potassium nitrate in the long-term group and keeps only in-chair treatments in its up-to-seven-days window1. Its earliest reading in a randomised trial is day three, where an industry-funded study found it ahead of the fluoride control on the cold-air score and not on the tactile threshold, and the one reading earlier than that belongs to a paste which also carried strontium chloride27. Three studies have examined a potassium toothpaste at one week and none publishes a figure for what it did on its own, because in every one of them the week-one comparison belongs to the active it was tested against, and two were written by employees of the company whose paste won345. If the deadline behind your search is real, the NHS answer to pain that has lasted more than two days is a dentist rather than a different tube23. S3 Sensitivity Science™ is judged at two to four weeks, and says so.
What was checked22 peer-reviewed studies, NHS and Oral Health Foundation guidance
- Every clean, placebo-controlled result for 5% potassium nitrate sits at four weeks or later, and the one day-three reading, from an industry-funded trial, is split between the two instruments: ahead of the fluoride control on cold air, a non-significant 10.7% on the tactile threshold211121314.
- Three studies have taken a one-week reading on a potassium toothpaste; in all three it is the comparator that loses, by 79.8% on the tactile threshold in the largest of them, and two of the three carry the manufacturer's own scientists as authors345.
- A systematic review of 74 randomised trials grouped every desensitising treatment by the window in which it first reached significance, and the only ones in the window up to seven days are applied by a dentist in the chair1.
- A plain fluoride paste with no desensitising active improved the cold-air score significantly on its own in a six-week trial, which is why your own verdict at day seven is the least reliable number on this page18.
- S3 Sensitivity Science™ is a daily toothpaste rather than a fortnight's course of treatment, which is what its two-to-four-week judgement point assumes.
Is there a published reading for potassium nitrate at one week?
There is, in three studies, and none of them tells you what you want to know. Four PubMed searches run for this page in September 2026 returned seventy-nine records between them, and screening every abstract left three trials in which a potassium toothpaste was examined at seven days, two of them industry-funded and written by the makers of the pastes it was measured against345.
The largest is an industry-funded phase III trial of 120 completers in which a stabilised stannous fluoride toothpaste was tested against a marketed potassium nitrate dentifrice as its positive control, with readings at baseline, day one, day three and day seven3. At the seven-day reading the stannous paste had reduced tactile hypersensitivity 79.8% more than the potassium comparator and air-blast hypersensitivity 47.1% more; seven of the ten authors are employees of the company that makes the stannous paste, and the paper appeared in a journal supplement3. What the abstract never gives is the number this reader wants: how much the potassium arm changed from its own baseline.
The second is an eight-week trial of 80 adults from Rome, whose authors include the manufacturer's scientists who developed the arginine technology it was compared against, and it names its potassium comparator precisely: a marketed paste carrying 2% potassium ion, dosed as 5.0% potassium nitrate4. Its examination points are baseline, one week, two weeks, four weeks and eight weeks. Its published results begin at two weeks — the one-week examination was carried out and its number is not in the paper's abstract. The third is a small three-group clinical study of 45 adults, fifteen per group, in which an arginine paste beat a potassium-based one at every interval including one week; it published no figures at all, ran no placebo arm, and never states how much potassium its test tube carried5.
So the honest answer to the search that brought you here is this: a potassium toothpaste has been measured at seven days, three times, and on all three occasions it was the thing something else was measured against. No published trial reports what a 5% potassium nitrate toothpaste does on its own at the end of week one, and two of the three that took the reading were industry-funded345.
What has been measured, and when?
Everything that has been published, in one table. Two instruments do most of the work: the Schiff scale, which scores how much a blast of cold air hurts, and the Yeaple probe, which raises a measured force against the tooth until you feel it. They can disagree, and on potassium nitrate they have. A cell marked no published reading is not an oversight; those cells are the answer to the question at the top of this page.
| Time point | What was measured | For potassium nitrate | Trial, design, n | Funding |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Immediately after one use | Yeaple tactile, Schiff air | No published reading for 5% potassium nitrate alone. A paste carrying 5% potassium nitrate and 2% strontium chloride beat its own inactive base on both instruments (p = 0.047 tactile, p = 0.026 air) — two actives in one tube, so nothing can be credited to the potassium | Liu & Hu 2012, double-blind randomised trial, 81 enrolled | none stated in the record |
| Immediately after one use | Yeaple tactile, Schiff air | A 2% potassium ion paste was the benchmark an arginine paste beat at this point, by 130.7% on tactile and 43.8% on air | Ayad 2009, double-blind randomised trial, 120 adults | authors employed by the arginine paste's maker |
| Day 1 | tactile, air blast | No published reading. A potassium nitrate dentifrice was the positive control at day one in one trial, which reports no separate figure for it | Liu 2024, double-blind randomised trial, 120 completers | industry-funded |
| Day 3 | Schiff air | Beat the fluoride control | Biesbrock 2025, double-blind randomised trial, 120 randomised | industry-funded |
| Day 3 | Yeaple tactile | 10.7% better than the fluoride control, and not significant — the one measure and moment where it did not separate | Biesbrock 2025, double-blind randomised trial, 120 randomised | industry-funded |
| Day 3 | Schiff air, Yeaple tactile | Behind the same paste with a copolymer added, on both instruments; no comparison with the fluoride control is reported at this point | Seong 2026, randomised examiner-blind trial, 118 completers | industry-funded |
| Week 1 | tactile, air blast | No published within-arm reading. In three studies it is the comparator: beaten by stannous fluoride (79.8% tactile, 47.1% air), beaten by arginine, and measured but not reported in the third | Liu 2024 (120), Kar 2019 (45), Docimo 2009 (80) | two of the three industry-linked |
| Week 2 | Schiff air, cold water | 35% on air and 34% on water, against 45% and 49% for a bioactive glass paste, which was significantly ahead at this point; a rapid fall in positive scores from week two in the twelve-week placebo trial | Sharma 2010, double-blind randomised trial, 120; Nagata 1994, double-blind randomised trial, 36 | none stated in the records |
| Week 2 | tactile and air stimulation scores | Both a 5% potassium nitrate paste and the same paste with aluminium lactate added separated from placebo from this point onward | Ishii 2026, double-blind randomised trial, 127 | industry-funded |
| Week 4 | tactile, thermal, air | Significant against placebo on every index measured | Silverman 1996, multicentre randomised trial, size not stated; Schiff 1998, randomised trial, 48 | none stated in the records |
| Week 6 | tactile, thermal, air blast | Significant against placebo | Schiff 1994, randomised trial, 67 | none stated in the record |
| Week 8 | Schiff air | 44% better than the fluoride control, against 57% for stannous fluoride and 47% for an oxalate paste, with no significant difference between the three at this point | Biesbrock 2025, double-blind randomised trial, 120 randomised | industry-funded |
| Week 12 | air, cold water | 84% and 79%, against 87% and 91% for a bioactive glass paste, with the early gap closed | Sharma 2010, double-blind randomised trial, 120 | none stated in the record |
The two instruments matter more here than they look. In an eight-week trial of 120 adults, an arginine regimen improved the tactile threshold significantly at two, four and eight weeks while the potassium regimen never did at any point, even though both improved on the air blast16. In a four-week trial of 30 adults, a bioactive glass paste was significantly ahead of 5% potassium nitrate at two weeks and at four, and the potassium paste separated from its control only at four weeks15. "It worked at day three" can therefore mean two different things, and where both instruments are read the answer is often a split.
The pattern holds whichever row you start from. Nothing placebo-controlled arrives before four weeks11121314; everything earlier is a comparison potassium loses, or a reading nobody published. That is not the same as saying nothing happens in week one. An untested claim and a disproved one are different things, and this page will not blur them.
Why do the actives that work on the tubule show up sooner?
Because they change something you can photograph, and potassium changes something you cannot. A tubule-occluding active — a bioactive glass, a stannous salt, arginine with calcium carbonate — deposits material in the openings on the dentine surface, and the deposit is there the moment brushing stops. Potassium is thought to work on the nerve endings inside the tooth instead, by raising the potassium concentration around them until they are less ready to fire, and that is a slow accumulation rather than a plug. It is also a proposed mechanism rather than a confirmed one, which the page on how potassium nitrate is thought to calm a sensitive tooth sets out at length: nobody has yet confirmed it inside an intact human tooth. The Sensitivity Journal's explainer on how sensitive toothpastes work walks through both routes end to end.
The published clocks follow the mechanisms. In the systematic review of 74 randomised trials, stannous fluoride and hydroxyapatite reach significance in the medium-term window of up to a month, potassium nitrate and arginine only in the long-term one, and the up-to-seven-days window contains no toothpaste at all1. In the twelve-week head-to-head, the bioactive glass paste was significantly ahead of potassium nitrate at two weeks and four weeks, and by twelve weeks the two were level10. In a three-day trial whose funding is not stated in the record, an arginine paste beat a potassium paste on a single fingertip application, before any brushing had happened8. And in the newest and largest synthesis — a network meta-analysis of 93 randomised trials and 9,548 participants — the network is built at two weeks, not one, because that is where the trials put their earliest common measurement; potassium with or without fluoride comes out at a small effect on low confidence, and stannous fluoride is the only node rated high21.
So, plainly. If your question is really within a week, potassium nitrate is the wrong active to be asking about — and potassium nitrate is the nerve-calming active in S3 Sensitivity Science™. The useful next question is not which tube is quickest, but what a week can realistically buy you, and the answer to that involves a dentist.
Why is your own impression at day seven unreliable?
Because the trials measured what happens when a person brushes with a paste that does nothing, and the answer was: quite a lot1819. In a six-week trial of 120 adults comparing strontium acetate, potassium nitrate and a plain fluoride paste, no product differed significantly from any other, and the fluoride-only group improved significantly on cold air from its own baseline18. A network meta-analysis of 30 randomised trials reported a significant placebo effect across the literature and found no significant difference between potassium and placebo19. The Cochrane review of potassium toothpastes, still the most-quoted source on the subject, found a significant effect on air-blast and tactile measures at six to eight weeks and none at all on what patients said about their own teeth20.
Add to that what happens outside a trial. In a cohort of 1,862 patients treated by 171 community dentists and asked to rate their own pain at one, four and eight weeks, roughly 60% reported improvement over the whole period — with treatment chosen by the dentist, no control group, and no figures published by time point22. Neither a good week nor a flat one tells you what the paste did. A trial controls for the weather, for the tooth you stopped chewing on, for the fact that being watched changes how you brush. Your bathroom controls for none of it.
What should the first two weeks with S3 feel like?
Mostly like brushing your teeth. The judgement point on the pack is two to four weeks, which is where the published trials of this active put their first clean readings, and the honest version of that promise is a date to check in rather than a deadline to hit. Two brushings a day, the full two minutes, spit and do not rinse, and no swapping on day eight because nothing has happened yet: swapping at day seven restarts a clock that nobody in the published literature has run for less than a fortnight.
One thing worth knowing is that the trials disagree with the pack about stopping. The Oral Health Foundation's advice is to keep using a sensitivity toothpaste to maintain the effect24. The one trial that stopped the paste and measured what happened — industry-funded, and the only washout arm in this literature — found most of the benefit still there three weeks later2. Both statements are on this page because both are true, and the practical reading is the boring one: keep brushing.
Ranked by when each active first has a published reading against a control, the picture does not flatter the one S3 uses, and the combination S3 carries has no published time-course of its own.
| Active | Earliest published time point with a significant reading against a control | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Arginine with calcium carbonate | Immediately after one fingertip application | Ayad 2009, double-blind randomised trial, 120 adults, authors employed by the maker |
| Stannous fluoride | Day 1 in one trial; 15.1% on electrical stimulation at day three in another | Liu 2024 (120 completers) and Bak 2023 (96 participants), both industry-funded |
| Potassium nitrate (5%) | Day 3, on the cold-air score only; the tactile threshold at day three did not separate | Biesbrock 2025, double-blind randomised trial, 120 randomised, industry-funded |
| Bioactive glass (calcium sodium phosphosilicate) | Two weeks | Sharma 2010, double-blind randomised trial, 120 adults |
| Nano-hydroxyapatite | Two weeks, on two contributing trials in the network | Gormley 2026, network meta-analysis, 93 randomised trials |
| In-chair materials (glutaraldehyde with HEMA, glass ionomer, laser) | Within seven days — the only group the systematic review places in that window | Marto 2019, systematic review of 74 randomised trials |
| S3 Sensitivity Science™ | No trial has tested this combination of potassium nitrate, hydroxyapatite and fluoride; the pack's judgement point is two to four weeks | S3 product information, September 2026 |
What if you genuinely need relief in a week?
Then the answer is an appointment, not a tube, and the evidence says so plainly. The systematic review's up-to-seven-days window contains three things and a dentist applies all of them: glutaraldehyde with HEMA, glass ionomer cements and lasers1. Those are procedures with their own indications, costs and failure rates, and this page is not the place to choose between them — a dentist is.
There is a second reason to go, and it is the better one. The NHS threshold for toothache is short: pain that has lasted more than two days is a question for a dentist23. The Oral Health Foundation adds four flags of its own — severe pain, sensitivity lasting more than a few weeks, only one tooth affected, or pain that arrived suddenly24. A wedding on Saturday and a tooth that has been screaming at cold water since Tuesday is not something you can shop your way out of. Start the paste today, by all means, because the clock has to start somewhere. But book the appointment first.
Frequently asked questions
Can any toothpaste work in a week?
One class has published week-one numbers: stannous fluoride. In a four-week trial of 96 participants, a stabilised stannous fluoride paste improved electrical-stimulation readings over a plain fluoride control by 15.1% at three days and 34.2% at one week, rising to 111.6% at four weeks; the trial was funded by the manufacturer and five of its authors are that company's employees17. The systematic review of 74 randomised trials is stricter still, and places no toothpaste of any kind in its up-to-seven-days window1. Read that as a genuine difference between actives, not as a reason to expect a tooth to be fixed by Friday.
How long should I give S3 before deciding it is not working?
Two to four weeks of twice-daily brushing, which is the judgement point on the pack and the window in which the trials of its nerve active took their first clean readings. If nothing at all has shifted by four weeks, the useful move is not a different tube but a dentist: a single tooth that stays sharp, pain that lingers after the cold has gone, or pain at night are all signs of something a toothpaste was never designed to treat24.
Why did I feel better on day two?
Possibly the paste; possibly not. In the trials, people given a plain fluoride toothpaste with no desensitising active in it improved significantly from their own baseline, and a network meta-analysis of 30 randomised trials found the placebo response large enough to swamp the differences between products1819. There is also the ordinary business of a sore tooth settling down, and the fact that you started paying attention to it. None of this means your day-two improvement is imaginary. It means it is not evidence.
Does using more paste make it work sooner?
Nothing published says so. The trials that produced every number on this page used a pea-sized amount twice a day, and the one variable they changed was time, not quantity. Two of them changed the base around the potassium instead — a copolymer in one, aluminium lactate in the other — and both combinations beat the same 5% potassium nitrate on its own, which suggests the interesting variable is the rest of the formula rather than how much you squeeze out; both were manufacturer-run single trials69.
Where S3 sits
S3 Sensitivity Science™ is judged at two to four weeks, and the pack says so rather than promising a week. It is not a fortnight's course of treatment but the toothpaste you use every day. That is a judgement point, not a deadline: if a tooth has to stop hurting by Saturday, the honest answer on this page is a dentist.
S3 Sensitivity Science™ pairs potassium nitrate with two hydroxyapatites and adult-strength fluoride in one daily paste.
See the toothpasteS3 Sensitivity Science™ puts a nerve-calming active, 5% potassium nitrate, alongside two forms of hydroxyapatite — 10% nano-hydroxyapatite and 5% biomimetic hydroxyapatite, both as solution — and full adult-strength fluoride in a single daily tube. Calm the nerve, strengthen the enamel surface, protect against further wear: three actions in one tube. S3 Repair Technology™ is patent-pending under UK application GB2604755.5. Others are dentist recommended; S3 is dentist owned, with more than 20 UK dentists holding a stake. Read more about S3.