Strongest toothpaste for severe tooth sensitivity in the UK: what strength really means.
No toothpaste on the UK shelf is the strongest one for severe sensitivity, because "strong" here stands for four different things — how much desensitising active is in the tube, how much fluoride, how many actives, and how large an effect the trials measured — and only the last of those has ever been compared across products, by class of active rather than by brand1. Of the 49 UK sensitivity toothpastes whose ingredient lists were read for the category review in September 2026, eleven publish a level for their desensitising active and 38 do not, so the comparison a person is trying to make at the shelf mostly cannot be made from the packs; S3 Sensitivity Science™ is one of the eleven, and the category review prints all 49 lists with their sources and read dates.
What was checked31 peer-reviewed studies, product information as published by each brand, the Oral Health Foundation, the NHS, the Department of Health and Social Care's prevention toolkit, and two PubMed searches run on 2026-09-10
- Four separate things get called strength on this shelf: the concentration of the desensitising active, the fluoride figure in parts per million, the number of actives, and the size of the effect anybody has actually gone out and measured.
- The one comparison that exists across products, a 2026 network meta-analysis of 93 randomised trials, compared classes of active and not concentrations, so nothing in it says that more of an active brings more relief1.
- Eleven of the 49 lists publish a level for a desensitising active, and S3 is one of them; its 10% nano-hydroxyapatite is an inclusion level of the ingredient as supplied, with a lower active mineral content, so it cannot be lined up against another pack's 10% unless that pack says what its own figure is of.
- Two Cochrane reviews of potassium toothpastes, in 2001 and again in 2006, both stopped short of endorsing them — the earlier one found no strong evidence of efficacy, the later one no clear evidence — and the 2026 network meta-analysis places potassium's own effect in the small-but-important band with low confidence651.
- Where the pain is severe, sits in one tooth, arrived out of nowhere or has outlasted a few weeks, the Oral Health Foundation's answer is an appointment rather than a fourth tube2.
What can "strong" mean on a sensitivity toothpaste?
Four things, and they do not point the same way. Two of them are printed on the pack in a form you can read, one is printed only as a marketing word, and one exists solely inside the published literature. The reason the shelf feels like a strength ladder is that the fluoride figure — the number every UK pack must give — is the one that behaves like a dose, and it is the number that has nothing to do with the nerve.
The last of the four is the only one anybody has compared across products. A 2026 systematic review and network meta-analysis of 93 randomised trials in 9,548 participants set the classes of active against a benchmark fluoride toothpaste at two weeks, and the confidence ratings are where the interest lies: high for stannous fluoride's cold-air result, moderate for nano-hydroxyapatite's from two studies, low for arginine's and low for potassium with or without fluoride, whose effect it places in the small-but-important band1. Its authors' conclusion is worth reading twice: choose by preference, tolerability and availability rather than by an expectation of superior efficacy1.
| What "strong" might mean | How it appears on a pack | Compared across products? | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Concentration of the desensitising active | "Potassium Nitrate 5% w/w", "Stannous Fluoride 0.454% w/w", "Arginine 8.00%" | Almost never: eleven of the 49 UK lists read in September 2026 publish one at all | CR-003 to CR-049 |
| Fluoride level | "1450 ppm fluoride", or a salt with its percentage | Yes, and it is nearly uniform; it is a decay figure, not a sensitivity figure | CR rows; prevention toolkit chapter 926 |
| Number of actives | Two or three named actives instead of one | Only inside single trials that added an active to their own base, never between products on sale | 23, and one manufacturer-funded trial13 |
| Size of the effect in trials | Nowhere on any pack | Once, by class of active, at two weeks, in a network of 93 trials | 1 |
| How quickly it works and how long it holds | "works in N days" on some fronts | Partly: single trials measure onset and washout; nothing compares the shelf | manufacturer-funded randomised trials1920 |
| How bad your own sensitivity is | Nowhere | Graded in trials on the Schiff air score, a tactile probe and a visual analogue scale — a measure of your tooth, not of a product | 43 |
The last row is the one that gets mistaken for the first. Severity is a property of the tooth, and the 1997 consensus guidelines for sensitivity trials set out the stimuli and the scales used to grade it: a tactile probe, a cold stimulus and an evaporative air blast, with negative and benchmark controls, over eight weeks for most trials4. A 2026 scoping review and Delphi consensus went back over 72 papers and found that definitions of the condition still vary widely and that few studies apply every part of the accepted definition, particularly the exclusion of other causes of tooth pain3. There is no strength scale on the shelf partly because, until very recently, there was no agreed scale in the journals either.
Which UK packs actually declare how much active they contain?
Eleven of them, out of the 49 recorded ingredient lists; 38 publish no level for the active that is supposed to be treating the sensitivity. Of those 38, three name no desensitising active at all in their published list, and 35 name one and leave the amount out. This page compares ingredients and stated actions only, not clinical performance, based on what each brand states about its own formula. Prices and formulations may change; always check the pack.
| Product, as listed | Active with a declared level | Level, as declared | What the figure is of | Fluoride, as published | Row |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| S3 Daily Sensitive Toothpaste | potassium nitrate, nano-hydroxyapatite, biomimetic hydroxyapatite | 5%, 10%, 5% | the salt; then both hydroxyapatites as supplied, so the active mineral content is lower | 1450 ppm, sodium monofluorophosphate | CR-028 |
| Sensodyne Pronamel Daily Protection | potassium nitrate | 5% w/w | the salt | 1450 ppm, sodium fluoride | CR-004 |
| TheraBreath Sensitive Toothpaste | potassium nitrate | 5% | the salt | sodium fluoride 0.24%, no ppm printed | CR-049 |
| Sensodyne Rapid Relief (Original) | stannous fluoride | 0.454% w/w | the salt | 1450 ppm in total | CR-003 |
| Sensodyne Sensitivity & Gum Original | stannous fluoride | 0.454% w/w | the salt | 1450 ppm in total | CR-008 |
| Corsodyl Gum+ Breath & Sensitivity | stannous fluoride | 0.4540% w/w | the salt | 1450 ppm in total | CR-009 |
| Sensodyne Clinical Repair Active White | calcium sodium phosphosilicate | 5% w/w | the bioactive glass | 1450 ppm, sodium fluoride | CR-005 |
| Colgate Sensitive Repair & Prevent + Gentle Whitening | arginine | 8.00% | the amino acid | 1450 ppm, sodium monofluorophosphate | CR-015 |
| Nura Mineralising Paste | hydroxyapatite, nano plus micro | 12% | the two mineral ingredients together; brand text elsewhere splits it 7% and 5% | none | CR-035 |
| RiseWell Hydroxyapatite Toothpaste (Wild Mint) | micro-hydroxyapatite | 10% | not stated, and the figure sits in a page FAQ rather than the ingredient list | none | CR-047 |
| Truthpaste Hydroxyapatite Peppermint | hydroxyapatite | 5%, given also as 50,000 ppm | not stated | none | CR-032 |
Three details in that table matter more than the numbers. Three of the eleven are, in effect, declaring a fluoride salt: 0.454% stannous fluoride is a fluoride figure that also happens to be the desensitising active, which is why those three rows print a level where a potassium paste beside them prints none. Two Oral-B sensitive pastes go halfway, declaring in the hazards block that 1100 ppm of the fluoride comes from stannous fluoride and 350 ppm from sodium fluoride, without ever declaring how much stannous fluoride is in the tube. And only three lists in the whole review declare how much potassium is in the tube: a 5% potassium nitrate paste sold for acid wear, whose page text is about re-hardening enamel and says nothing about sensitivity at all; a US drug-facts label whose UK availability could not be established; and S3.
Read the other direction, the table is a list of what you cannot know. Spotlight Oral Care's Sensitivity + Rebuilding Pro, the product closest in shape to a potassium-plus-mineral formula, publishes neither level: it names potassium citrate and hydroxyapatite as ingredients and stops there. Own-label and mid-priced potassium pastes name the salt and give the fluoride, which is a legal requirement, and nothing else. That is not a scandal — no rule in the UK requires a cosmetic to declare the level of a functional ingredient — but it does mean that a shopper comparing two "maximum strength" tubes is comparing two adjectives.
Does a higher concentration work better?
Nobody has shown that it does. In the trials this page rests on, and in the two PubMed searches run to look for more, there is no randomised comparison in which a higher concentration of the same desensitising active relieved sensitivity more than a lower one, and the single review that ranks the actives against each other graded them by class and never by amount1.
Take potassium first, because it is the family with the longest run of trials. One number recurs, 5%, and it recurs because that is the number somebody put in a tube and tested: 36 adults in a 12-week double-blind placebo-controlled trial, where 5% potassium nitrate beat its vehicle on every measure from week four onwards7. Where the same 5% was carried with sodium monofluorophosphate, 48 adults in a randomised placebo-controlled trial over eight weeks gave the same answer8. What does not exist is a trial putting one concentration of potassium against another. The nearest thing in the literature crosses salts as well as levels: an eight-week double-blind trial of 80 adults, whose funding is not stated in the record, compared a 5.5% potassium citrate paste with a marketed 3.75% potassium chloride paste and found no difference on either the tactile or the air-blast measure at four or eight weeks10. A separate examiner-blind randomised trial of 133 adults, funded by GSK Consumer Healthcare with all authors its employees, tested an experimental 3.75% potassium chloride paste against a plain fluoride paste and got a split result: better on the air-blast score at every visit, worse on tactile threshold at eight weeks, and no difference at all on what the patients themselves rated9.
Two trials point the other way, and both of them hold potassium still. An examiner-blind randomised trial of 101 adults, whose funding is not stated in the record, put 5% potassium nitrate with 0.454% stannous fluoride against 5% potassium nitrate with 0.76% sodium monofluorophosphate; potassium was identical in both arms and the stannous arm won, so the trial is evidence about the fluoride salt, not about potassium11. A 2026 four-arm randomised trial with 118 completers, supported by Haleon with six of its eight authors employees of the manufacturer, held 5% potassium nitrate constant again and found that adding a copolymer to it beat 5% potassium nitrate alone at week two on both examiner measures — while the patients' own pain scores separated nothing12. The lesson those two teach is the opposite of a dose ladder: what moved the result was the rest of the formulation.
Hydroxyapatite is the one active where two levels of the same mineral were ever put side by side in one place, and what came back is thin. An eight-week double-blind randomised trial of 85 completers, funded by the manufacturer that supplied the tubes it tested, ran 10% nano-hydroxyapatite, 15% nano-hydroxyapatite and 10% nano-hydroxyapatite with 5% potassium nitrate against a calcium sodium phosphosilicate comparator; the 15% arm separated from the 10% arm on the cold stimulus at week six and at no other point, and never on the air stimulus at any of the four visits13. In the same manufacturer-funded trial, adding potassium nitrate to the 10% paste separated it from the plain 10% paste at three of four visits on cold and three of four on air13. One trial, one base, one manufacturer — but where the numbers move, they move for the second mechanism rather than for the bigger figure. The two pooled analyses of the ingredient behave the same way: a 2019 systematic review and meta-analysis of six four-week randomised trials found nano-hydroxyapatite ahead of its comparators on the evaporative and tactile measures and level with them on cold, and its pooled result covers all the levels used in those trials without splitting them apart15; a 2023 systematic review and meta-analysis of 44 clinical trials, two of whose authors are scientists employed by Dr Wolff, a maker of hydroxyapatite toothpastes, pools every form and every amount into one figure16. The register wording for this ingredient is deliberately careful for the same reason: nano-hydroxyapatite has been tested between 5% and 15% in remineralisation and sensitivity studies, and no page here says which of those levels is optimal, because the sources that would settle it are unverified.
The rest of the concentration story is that each active has one number and everybody uses it. Stannous fluoride appears at 0.454% w/w in every UK pack that declares it, which is the level behind a 2021 meta-analysis of 14 randomised trials in 1,287 participants drawn from Procter & Gamble's own archive, industry-funded and with company employees among its authors17. Arginine appears at 8.00% on the one UK pack that declares it, which is the level in the eight-week double-blind randomised trial of 120 adults that put an arginine regimen ahead of a 5% potassium nitrate regimen18. The one bioactive-glass paste that publishes a figure publishes 5% w/w, the level used in the trials of that ingredient. Fluoride-free hydroxyapatite pastes are the exception and range from 5% to 12%, with the basis of the figure — mineral as supplied, or mineral in the finished paste — published by none of them.
| Search run on 2026-09-10 | Verbatim query | Hits | What came back |
|---|---|---|---|
| Potassium at different concentrations | `("potassium nitrate" OR "potassium citrate") AND (dentifrice OR toothpaste) AND (concentration OR "dose-response")` | 10 | No trial comparing two concentrations of the same potassium salt; the hits are remineralisation and bleaching studies, an ICP-MS analysis of commercial pastes, and one short-term two-product comparison |
| Potassium nitrate randomised trials | `"potassium nitrate" AND (dentifrice OR toothpaste) AND (hypersensitivity OR sensitivity) AND ("Randomized Controlled Trial"[Publication Type])` | 10 | Ten randomised trials, none of them a dose comparison; the two closest hold 5% constant and vary the second ingredient |
| High-fluoride pastes for sensitivity | `("dentine hypersensitivity" OR "dentin hypersensitivity") AND ("5000 ppm" OR "high fluoride" OR "1.1% sodium fluoride")` | 3 | No modern trial of a 5,000 ppm paste for sensitivity; a 2004 materials study, a silver diamine fluoride laboratory study, and a 1990 French-language clinical evaluation whose record carries no abstract |
If "strong" means fast, or long-lasting, what do the trials show?
This is what most people mean by the word, and it is the one meaning the literature answers directly, trial by trial. Nothing on any pack is an onset claim that anybody has set beside another pack's onset claim, so the table below is built from single trials, each with its own base, its own control arm and, in four of the eight rows, a named commercial funder.
| Active, as tested | Earliest measured change | What happened after that, or after stopping | The trial, its size and who paid for it |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5% potassium nitrate toothpaste | day three on the cold-air score; not until week two on the tactile measure | benefit still growing at week eight; three weeks after switching everyone back to the control paste, most of it was still there | double-blind randomised trial, 120 randomised, funded by Procter & Gamble, seven of eight authors its employees19 |
| 0.454% stannous fluoride toothpaste | day three on both measures | ahead of potassium nitrate at week two, level with it by week eight | the same trial, funded by Procter & Gamble19 |
| 5% potassium nitrate toothpaste | week four in the older placebo-controlled work | held to week 12 | double-blind randomised placebo-controlled trial, 36 adults, no funder declared7 |
| 5% potassium nitrate with monofluorophosphate | week four | held to week eight | randomised placebo-controlled trial, 48 adults, no funder declared8 |
| 5% calcium sodium phosphosilicate toothpaste | day three | rising steadily to day 56 | examiner-blind randomised trial, 215 completers, sponsored and funded by Haleon, the manufacturer20 |
| 5% calcium sodium phosphosilicate over 24 weeks | week eight | small throughout; using it in two eight-week blocks or continuously made no difference, and the tactile and self-reported measures barely moved | examiner-blind randomised trial, 76 adults, funded by GSK Consumer Healthcare21 |
| 15% nano-hydroxyapatite toothpaste | week two | held to week four | double-blind randomised trial, 105 adults, placebo and fluoride arms, no funder declared14 |
| Desensitising agents at six months and beyond | not applicable | glutaraldehyde and low-level laser gave the largest long-term effects; calcium-phosphate agents did not reach significance | systematic review and meta-analysis of 22 randomised trials, authors declare no competing interests22 |
Three honest readings come out of that. First, day three is the earliest visit in any of these trials, and the ones that reach it are the manufacturer-funded studies with the tightest schedules; nothing here licenses a claim about the first brush, and this page makes none1920. Second, in the one trial that included a washout, the potassium paste's advantage did not fall away when people stopped: most of it was still there three weeks later, in a study funded by Procter & Gamble19. Third, the longest view is the least flattering: pooled across 22 randomised trials followed for at least six months, the calcium-phosphate class did not reach statistical significance, and the agents with the biggest long-term effects were ones a dentist applies22.
Is S3 a stronger toothpaste, and what does its 10% actually refer to?
No, and the honest version of the answer is more useful than a yes would be. S3 declares a level for each of its three actives, which puts it among the eleven, and the levels were chosen to match the published studies: 5% potassium nitrate and a 10% nano-hydroxyapatite solution. Matching the studies is a claim about formulation discipline, not about strength — it means the numbers can be lined up against the trials rather than that they beat anybody.
The percentage in this section's heading needs its basis every time it is printed, and this is the page where the basis does the most work. Both of S3's hydroxyapatite percentages describe the ingredient as it arrives from the supplier rather than the mineral in the finished paste, the active content is smaller than the label figure, and S3 publishes both numbers. That means the number on this tube cannot be compared with another tube's 10% unless that tube says what its own figure is of — and of the three fluoride-free hydroxyapatite pastes in the review that publish a figure, not one does. A reader who takes one thing from this page could take that: an undeclared basis makes a declared percentage almost as uninformative as no percentage at all.
On potassium, what S3 carries is the amount the trials used rather than an amount above it. The register allows one carefully bounded phrase here: 5% potassium nitrate is a clinically proven dose. It is proven for the dose, in the placebo-controlled trials above78, and not for any finished product including this one — no trial has tested S3 against another toothpaste, so nothing on this page ranks it. What can be said is narrower and duller: of the 51 UK sensitivity toothpastes whose lists were read in September 2026, one names potassium nitrate, a hydroxyapatite and a fluoride salt in the same list, and it is this one — a sentence the category review lets anybody check row by row. Being the only list of its shape is a fact about the shelf. It is not a measurement of anything.
Two to four weeks is the window in which to judge it, as with every active in the table above: relief accumulates because potassium builds around the nerve and mineral is laid down brush by brush, so S3 starts working from the first brush and is judged at two to four weeks.
Does more fluoride make a sensitivity paste stronger?
Not in any way that has been shown for sensitivity. The Department of Health and Social Care's prevention toolkit is explicit that the strongest toothpaste you can buy over the counter in the UK carries 1,500 ppm fluoride and that higher-dose pastes are prescription-only, with the indications for the 2,800 ppm and 5,000 ppm sodium fluoride pastes written entirely around caries risk — decay present, dry mouth, a high-sugar diet, head and neck radiotherapy — and the age thresholds set at ten years and 1626. Dentine hypersensitivity is not among the indications, and the toolkit adds that evidence on the efficacy of higher-dose fluoride toothpastes is limited26.
Searching for the trial that would justify buying one for sensitivity returns almost nothing. The third search in the table above returned three records, and the nearest thing to a clinical evaluation of high-fluoride dentifrices for sensitivity among them is a French-language report from 1990 whose PubMed record carries no abstract, so it cannot be read, carded or cited here. A 2013 review of the fluoride literature puts the position plainly: fluoride toothpaste has a fair effect on sensitive teeth when it is combined with an agent that obstructs dentine fluid — a metal ion, a potassium salt, an oxalate — and the case for high concentrations is a root-caries case, not a sensitivity one27.
That is why 1450 ppm, and not more, is the figure to look for on a sensitivity pack, and why the interesting question about fluoride here is whether it is present at all. The salt S3 uses to deliver its 1450 ppm is sodium monofluorophosphate, and the reason is shelf chemistry rather than sensitivity: monofluorophosphate leaves hydroxyapatite's calcium alone. Among the products in the review the range runs from 1450 ppm down to the 530 ppm that BioMin F carries bound inside its bioactive glass, and down again to nothing at all in the fluoride-free hydroxyapatite pastes. A paste with no fluoride is not weaker at treating sensitivity. It is making a different trade, and the trade is about decay.
Do "rapid", "clinical", "max" and "pro" on the front mean anything?
They are names, and under UK cosmetic rules they are allowed to be names. None of those words has a definition in parts per million or in percentage terms, none corresponds to a dose threshold, and no two brands use them to mean the same thing. In the category review the pastes carrying the loudest words on the front are, by their own ingredient lists, ordinary members of their families: one of the three stannous fluoride pastes carries such a word on its front, and all three declare the same 0.454%. The word that comes closest to carrying information is the one that names an ingredient, because an ingredient name sends you to the back of the pack, where the level either is or is not printed.
The practical move in the aisle is to ignore the front entirely. Read the ingredient list for one of eight words — potassium nitrate, potassium citrate, potassium chloride, stannous fluoride, calcium sodium phosphosilicate, arginine, hydroxyapatite, or none of them — then read the level if there is one, then read the fluoride figure. The sibling guide in this section walks the Boots and Superdrug shelves in exactly that order, and the Journal's page on how sensitive toothpastes work explains what each of those eight words does once you have found one.
Is two actives stronger than one?
Two mechanisms are a different idea from two doses of one mechanism, and the case for it rests on a handful of trials rather than on anything you can buy. The mechanisms genuinely differ: in a four-week double-blind randomised trial of 30 adults with a companion electron-microscope arm, 5% potassium nitrate reduced air and cold-water sensitivity against a control paste and did not occlude the dentine tubules at all24. Hydroxyapatite occludes; potassium desensitises; neither does the other's job.
Three randomised trials have taken a potassium base and put a second ingredient into it. In a UK examiner-blind randomised trial over 14 days, a paste carrying potassium nitrate, hydroxyapatite and aluminium lactate came out ahead of a potassium-nitrate-only control at every visit23. The hydroxyapatite trial above showed the same shape when potassium nitrate joined 10% nano-hydroxyapatite as supplied, in work funded by the company whose tubes were on test13. A four-arm trial funded by Haleon found it a third time with a copolymer12. Set against those, a small 2026 randomised trial of 39 adults put a hydroxyapatite paste beside a potassium nitrate paste and found them comparable, both improving from baseline, with the authors' own caution that 39 people can neither establish nor exclude a difference25. Inside S3 the division of labour is the same one those trials keep finding: the potassium salt works on the nerve, the nano-sized mineral inside the tubule, the micron-sized mineral on the surface.
The limit of what can honestly be said about S3's own combination is that nobody has ever put it beside a single-active paste, or beside any other product, in a controlled setting. The argument for combining mechanisms is an argument from other people's formulations.
What is stronger than a toothpaste, and who applies it?
Things a dentist does. The Oral Health Foundation's own list of what an appointment can add is short and specific: a desensitising treatment applied to the tooth, a high-fluoride toothpaste on prescription, a filling placed over worn areas near the gumline, or treatment of the gum disease or other cause underneath2. That page carries an educational grant from a toothbrush and toothpaste manufacturer, which is worth knowing when reading any advice about products, including its list of the three ingredients it names.
The evidence for the professional options is better than the shelf's and thinner than you would hope. A 2013 systematic review and network meta-analysis of 40 studies found that most in-office treatments beat placebo — physical occlusion at a standardised mean difference of -2.57, chemical occlusion -2.33, laser therapy -2.81, combined treatment -3.47 — while nerve desensitisation did not reach significance at -1.72, and the five active classes showed no significant differences from one another28. Every one of those intervals is wide — chemical occlusion's runs from -3.65 to -1.04 — and the review is explicit that it supports no ranking between the five28. A 2015 systematic review of 105 randomised trials reached the parallel conclusion for professionally and self-applied agents together: the literature is too heterogeneous in design, stimulus and comparator to pool across agents at all30.
One professional option is genuinely strong and carries a visible price. Silver diamine fluoride is licensed in the UK for the management of dentine hypersensitivity rather than for caries, and the same government toolkit notes that it blackens teeth and so has challenging aesthetic properties26. In a double-blind randomised trial of 148 older adults with exposed root surfaces, clinician-applied 38% silver diamine fluoride cut the cold-air sensitivity score by a median 60% at eight weeks against 50% for a clinician-applied 5% potassium nitrate solution29. Both arms improved a great deal, there was no placebo arm, and neither result is about a toothpaste. A 2017 UK guideline review for general practice sums the whole field up in one sentence that no product page will quote: there does not currently appear to be one ideal desensitising agent that can be recommended31.
UK clinical guidance on this condition is genuinely thin, and it is worth saying which registers were checked to establish that. On 2026-09-10 the Scottish Dental Clinical Effectiveness Programme's published-guidance list carried 16 topics and none on dentine hypersensitivity; the British Society of Periodontology's professionals index carried clinical guidance on periodontitis and none on sensitivity; and the Department of Health and Social Care's prevention toolkit runs to 13 chapters, none of them about it26. What a course of in-office treatment costs, and how that compares with a year of tubes, is the arithmetic the sibling guide on price works out.
When is severe sensitivity a sign of something else?
When it stops behaving like sensitivity. Dentine hypersensitivity is a short, sharp response to a stimulus that stops when the stimulus does; pain that lingers after the cold has gone, pain that arrives on its own, pain that wakes you, or pain in a single tooth is a different conversation, and the 2026 scoping review and consensus behind the current trial definitions is explicit that a diagnosis requires other causes of tooth pain to be excluded first3. The Oral Health Foundation names decay, a cracked tooth, gum problems and infection as what those patterns can mean, and lists severe pain, pain in one tooth, sudden onset and sensitivity lasting more than a few weeks as reasons to be seen2. For plain toothache the NHS clock is shorter still — more than two days is a dentist's job, not a GP's — and swelling reaching the eye or the neck, or trouble breathing or swallowing, is an A&E visit the same day34.
Severe is not rare, which is why the pattern matters more than the intensity. In a 2026 cross-sectional study of 3,551 adults across seven European countries, funded by Haleon, 29.1% had at least one tooth scoring moderate or severe on the Schiff air scale, and the condition clustered on the cheek-facing surfaces of the lower front teeth where erosive wear and gum recession sit32. Recession is the reason many of the worst cases are worst: where the gum has moved, exposed tubules and an over-reactive nerve are both in play. A 2013 UK guideline review sorts management by exactly that logic, with separate strategies for gum recession, for toothwear lesions and for periodontal disease or its treatment, and states that one strategy cannot suit all patients33.
So the most useful sentence this page can offer costs it a sale. If the pain is in one tooth, if it hangs around after the trigger has gone, if it wakes you, or if four weeks of a paste with a declared active and adult-strength fluoride has changed nothing, the answer is not a stronger tube — there is no stronger tube, and the ladder people are trying to climb at the shelf does not exist2. The answer is an appointment, and the shelf is the wrong place to be standing. The Journal's page on how to stop sensitive teeth pain covers what to do in the meantime.
Frequently asked questions
What is the strongest sensitive toothpaste I can buy in the UK, and is S3 it?
There is no strongest one, and no, S3 is not it: "strong" splits into four things — the level of the desensitising active, the fluoride figure, the number of actives, and the effect size in trials — and the only one ever compared across products was compared by class of active, at two weeks, with stannous fluoride rated the most clinically meaningful on high confidence and potassium on low1. S3 declares a level for all three of its actives, which eleven of the 49 UK lists do, and its combination has never been tested against another product.
Is prescription-strength fluoride toothpaste stronger for sensitivity?
It is stronger for decay. The over-the-counter ceiling in the UK is 1,500 ppm fluoride, and the 2,800 ppm and 5,000 ppm prescription pastes have indications written around caries risk rather than sensitivity, with the government's own toolkit noting that evidence on their efficacy is limited26. A PubMed search on 2026-09-10 for trials of high-fluoride pastes in dentine hypersensitivity returned three records, none of them a modern trial, and the strongest statement the fluoride literature supports is that fluoride helps sensitivity when it is paired with something that blocks the tubules27.
Can I use two sensitivity toothpastes at once?
Alternating tubes has never been tested, so nothing here can tell you it works. What has been tested is the reverse question — whether a paste needs to be used continuously — and in a 24-week examiner-blind randomised trial of 76 adults funded by GSK Consumer Healthcare, using a bioactive glass paste in two eight-week blocks did as well as using it throughout, with both effects small21. The more useful version of the idea is one tube that already carries two mechanisms, since the trial that added a mineral to a potassium base came out ahead of the potassium base alone at every visit23.
How long before I decide it is not working?
Give it four weeks, with the date written down, and judge it on the triggers that used to hurt rather than on how it feels on the day. The 1997 consensus guidelines set eight weeks as the standard trial length, and most of the trials on this page take their readings at two, four and eight weeks4. In the trial with the closest visit schedule, funded by Procter & Gamble, the potassium paste's advantage was still increasing at week eight, so an unconvincing fortnight is not a verdict19. Four weeks of no change at all, however, is a reason to see someone rather than to buy a fourth tube2.
What can a dentist do that a toothpaste cannot?
Diagnose, and then apply things you cannot buy. Most in-office treatments beat placebo in a 2013 network meta-analysis of 40 studies, with no significant difference between the five active classes and wide credible intervals throughout28. The one licensed in the UK specifically for dentine hypersensitivity, silver diamine fluoride, reduced cold-air sensitivity by a median 60% at eight weeks in a double-blind randomised trial of 148 older adults — and blackens the tooth it treats, which the government's prevention toolkit states plainly2926. A dentist can also find the cracked tooth, the failing filling or the recession that no tube addresses.
Where S3 sits
The two things wrong in a sensitive tooth are fixed by different chemistry, which is why this formula carries a nerve active and two minerals rather than a larger dose of one. Its answer to "stronger" is a second and a third job in the same tube: the nerve calmed, the tubules filled, the surface protected, with adult-strength fluoride kept in. All three levels are published, and each was set to the concentration the studies used, which makes them checkable rather than superior.
S3 Sensitivity Science™ pairs potassium nitrate with two hydroxyapatites and adult-strength fluoride in one daily paste.
See the toothpasteS3 Sensitivity Science pairs 5% potassium nitrate for the nerve with two hydroxyapatites — 10% nano-hydroxyapatite as solution inside the tubule and 5% biomimetic hydroxyapatite on the surface — and keeps full adult-strength fluoride, in one daily toothpaste. Calm, strengthen, protect: three actions in a tube most people already use twice a day. The formula is patent-pending S3 Repair Technology™, UK application GB2604755.5. Built with, and owned by, UK dentists: over 20 practitioners are investors rather than endorsers. Read more about S3.