Immediate relief for tooth nerve pain: what helps tonight, and what needs a dentist tomorrow.
No desensitising toothpaste is a remedy for tooth nerve pain tonight; what eases the wait, in NHS advice, is a painkiller such as ibuprofen or paracetamol taken as the pack or a pharmacist advises, soft food, and keeping clear of anything sweet, very hot or very cold1. Pain that throbs, lingers after the drink has gone, wakes you or comes with swelling needs a dentist, reached through your practice or NHS 111, and swelling that spreads towards the eye or neck, or makes it hard to breathe or swallow, needs A&E123. S3 Sensitivity Science™ is a daily toothpaste that pairs 5% potassium nitrate with two forms of hydroxyapatite and 1450 ppm fluoride, and it is judged over two to four weeks, not overnight.
What was checked22 peer-reviewed studies and reviews, the NHS, NICE Clinical Knowledge Summaries, the Oral Health Foundation, and product information as published by each brand
- Swelling near the eye or in the neck, or trouble breathing, swallowing or speaking, means A&E or 999; severe pain that keeps you awake and is not helped by painkillers, or pain that painkillers help but that will not go away, means an urgent dental appointment through your practice or NHS 111, which the NHS says should come within 24 hours or seven days142.
- The NHS measures for tonight are a painkiller taken as the packet or a pharmacist advises, soft food, a soft toothbrush, a pain-relieving gel and, for adults, a salt-water rinse, and NICE reminds clinicians to tell people that painkillers should not be used to put off dental treatment15.
- The desensitising-paste effects measured within minutes that this page found all came from a single application, an arginine paste put straight onto the tooth or a stannous fluoride paste brushed onto the sensitive teeth first, in trials funded by, or co-authored by scientists employed by, the makers of those pastes, plus one small university trial after gum treatment; all of them measured a puff of air or a probe on a sensitive tooth, not an ache678.
- S3's nerve active, potassium nitrate, is slow to show in trials: a systematic review of seventy-four trials placed it only among the longer-term results, and in a double-blind trial funded by Procter & Gamble it had not yet separated from a plain fluoride paste on the probe test at day three910.
- Antibiotics are not a painkiller for an inflamed nerve: in the one trial a Cochrane review could find, 40 people rated their pain in parallel whether they took penicillin or a placebo alongside painkillers, on low-certainty evidence, and NICE says antibiotics are generally not indicated for otherwise healthy adults whose infection shows no sign of spreading1112.
Can anything ease tooth nerve pain tonight?
Yes, a little, and the NHS lists what. Take a painkiller such as ibuprofen or paracetamol, with a pharmacist's advice if you are unsure and no aspirin for anyone under 16; use a pain-relieving gel for the mouth; rinse with salt water if you are an adult; eat soft food on the other side; use a soft toothbrush and leave the floss away from the sore tooth; and skip anything sweet, very hot or very cold1.
None of that reaches the cause. The Oral Health Foundation puts it in one line: pain relief can take the edge off discomfort, but it does not fix whatever is causing the toothache3. NICE's summary for clinicians adds three cautions that apply at home too: do not go over the recommended dose, check the packet or ask a pharmacist before combining over-the-counter products because many contain the same painkillers, and do not let painkillers become a reason to put off dental treatment5.
The main synthesis behind the painkiller advice is American. A 2024 guideline from the American Dental Association Science and Research Institute, funded by the US Food and Drug Administration and built on systematic reviews, makes a non-opioid painkiller, an anti-inflammatory such as ibuprofen on its own or with paracetamol, the first choice for toothache while dental treatment is not yet available13. Two limits come with that advice and both belong beside it: the panel found no trials of painkillers in toothache itself, so its toothache recommendations borrow from trials of pain after tooth extraction and are rated low certainty, and one of its panel members declares research funding and consulting fees from a maker of consumer-health products13. The guideline calls these medicines a bridge to treatment, not a substitute for it and not a reason to wait.
A numbing gel has a little evidence of its own. A 2023 systematic review of five randomised trials, all run in the United States in people with an inflamed pulp, found low-certainty evidence that a benzocaine gel may help more people get some pain reduction than a placebo gel over the 20 to 30 minutes after it goes on; the review was funded by the US Food and Drug Administration, and two of its authors declare grants from a maker of consumer-health products14. Twenty to thirty minutes is the window that review looked at, not a whole night. It also notes that too much benzocaine can cause methaemoglobinaemia, a blood disorder, which is one more reason to use any gel exactly as its pack says.
Part of what anything does in the first hour is the response to being treated at all. In a placebo-controlled trial of a paste applied by a clinician to sensitive teeth in 35 patients, plain water applied the same way cut air-blast pain by a fifth straight away15. That was sensitivity to a puff of air, not a throbbing tooth, but it helps explain why a first night on anything new can feel easier, whatever it contains.
Which kind of tooth pain is it, and which door does it need?
The kind of pain decides the door, and there are four: A&E or 999 now, an urgent dental appointment through your practice or NHS 111, a routine appointment, or managing at home with a daily paste judged over weeks123.
How much it hurts matters less than how it behaves. A sharp jolt that arrives with the cold drink and fades once the drink has gone is the pattern of sensitivity, although the Oral Health Foundation lists receding gums, a worn filling and a cracked tooth among the causes of that kind of pain; an ache that outlasts its trigger, comes on by itself or keeps you up points inward, towards an irritated nerve or an infection3. Dentists use the same distinction with a timed cold test. In a cross-sectional study of 60 adults, responses lasting about four to five seconds went with teeth whose pulp was judged able to recover and six seconds or more with teeth whose pulp was not, which is a guide for a clinician holding a cold stimulus to one isolated tooth, not a stopwatch rule for a glass of iced water16.
Two more findings make sorting at home harder than it sounds. Healthy teeth near an inflamed one can over-react as well: in a clinical study of 64 patients with an inflamed pulp, the neighbouring sound tooth and the matching tooth in the opposite jaw responded more strongly to cold until the inflamed tooth had been treated17. And the words people reach for carry information without settling anything: in a cross-sectional clinical study of 228 people with acute toothache, those whose tooth hurt when it was tapped more often called their pain throbbing and spreading18. A review written for UK primary dental care draws the plain conclusion that the same symptoms have several possible causes, so a definite diagnosis is difficult19. The guide to sharp-and-brief versus dull-and-lingering pain and the page on teeth that are sensitive to hot and cold at once take the patterns further.
The table puts each pattern beside its door and the page that sets that door. Where a row joins two sources, it says so. No product appears in it.
| What you notice | What it may be | Which door | What to do tonight | Source that sets the door |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Swelling spreading towards the eye or into the neck, or swelling that makes it hard to breathe, swallow or speak | An infection spreading beyond the tooth | A&E or 999, now | Do not drive yourself; take your medicines with you | NHS toothache1; NHS dental abscess4 |
| A swollen face or jaw with toothache, a high temperature or a bad taste | A dental abscess | Urgent dental appointment through your practice, or NHS 111 if you have no dentist or it is closed; the Oral Health Foundation asks for same-day care for facial swelling | Ibuprofen or paracetamol as the pack or a pharmacist advises; soft food; nothing very hot or cold | NHS dental abscess4 and Oral Health Foundation3, combined |
| Severe pain that keeps you awake and is not helped by painkillers | An infection or an abscess, in the Oral Health Foundation's words | Urgent dental appointment or NHS 111; the NHS says urgent care should come within 24 hours or 7 days | A painkiller as advised; call 111 tonight, or your practice when it opens | NHS urgent dental care2 and Oral Health Foundation3, combined |
| Pain that painkillers help but that is not going away | A cause that still needs finding | Urgent dental appointment or NHS 111 | Keep to the dose on the pack; do not let the painkiller replace the appointment | NHS urgent dental care2 and NICE CKS5, combined |
| Pain when you bite down | A cracked tooth, decay or a loose filling | Dental appointment; the Oral Health Foundation says this pain should always be checked | Chew on the other side; soft food | Oral Health Foundation3; NHS toothache1 |
| A dull ache that lingers after the trigger, comes and goes, or needs painkillers to manage | A nerve inside the tooth that is irritated or damaged | Dental appointment for further checks; the urgent route if it turns severe or painkillers stop helping | A painkiller as advised; avoid the trigger | Oral Health Foundation3 and NHS urgent dental care2, combined |
| A sharp, brief jolt to cold, sweet or brushing that fades once the trigger has gone | Sensitivity, from receding gums, a worn filling or a crack | Manage at home with a daily desensitising paste brushed as the pack directs; book a dental appointment if it has not improved after two weeks or the pattern changes | Avoid the trigger; cover your mouth in cold air | Oral Health Foundation3 |
| Toothache that has lasted more than 2 days | Any of the causes above | See a dentist; the NHS files this as non-urgent unless another row applies | The NHS measures in the first section | NHS toothache1 |
Two places are missing from the table on purpose. A GP surgery cannot give dental treatment, the NHS says, so it is the wrong door for toothache1. A pharmacist is the right person tonight for advice on painkillers and on toothache itself2. If swelling or a bad taste is part of the picture, the page on sensitivity with swelling or a bad taste goes through the infection signs, and the page on sensitivity that lingers after the trigger has gone explains what a lingering ache can mean; pain that wakes you has a page of its own.
What does not help tonight, even though people reach for it?
Antibiotics, clove oil, a salt-water rinse treated as a fix, and toothpaste rubbed on the sore tooth. Each is an understandable thing to try, and none has evidence of settling nerve pain by the morning.
Antibiotics are the one people most expect a dentist to hand over. For irreversible pulpitis, the inflamed pulp behind a good deal of nerve pain, the Cochrane review could find a single trial of 40 people, in which pain ran in parallel over seven days whether penicillin or a placebo was taken alongside painkillers, and the number of painkillers taken did not differ; the reviewers rated the certainty low and concluded that the evidence cannot say whether antibiotics reduce this pain11. For a tooth infection being treated by a dentist, a 2024 Cochrane review of three trials in 134 adults found that antibiotics given with the dental procedure made little or no difference to pain or swelling, on low- to very-low-certainty evidence20.
NICE's summary for clinicians says antibiotics are generally not indicated for otherwise healthy people at low risk whose infection shows no sign of spreading, and keeps them for people who are unwell, show signs of severe infection such as fever or spreading swelling, or are at high risk of complications12. Whether any one person needs them is for the dentist or doctor who examines that person to decide, and this page gives no advice on which antibiotic or how much.
Clove oil and a salt-water rinse have nothing behind them as toothache remedies at home. Two PubMed searches were run for this page on the tenth of September 2026. The first paired clove, eugenol, salt water or saline with toothache, dental pain or pulpitis, in records that mention randomisation or a trial, and returned fifty-one records. Eugenol, the oil in cloves, turned up only in dressings and cements that dentists place inside a tooth they are treating, saline only as a rinse used during root canal work, and none of the records tested either as something to use at home. The second, broader search, for clove, salt water or home remedies with toothache and no limit on design, returned twenty-nine records, made up of surveys of what people try, reviews of the clove plant, animal experiments and case reports, and none of them tested home use either. The NHS lists the rinse as something adults can try while they wait, and that is its standing1. A numbing gel eases things for a short while at best, as the first section set out, and it does not reach what is causing the pain.
Toothpaste rubbed onto the sore tooth is the one to be clearest about. Some of the research in the next section put a desensitising paste directly onto a sensitive tooth under study conditions, and a pain that throbs or lingers was never what it looked at. The pastes on this page, ours included, are used by brushing, as each pack directs, and this page gives no other way of using them.
If the pain wakes you, outlasts the cold drink or comes with swelling, the useful purchase tonight is a painkiller and the useful call tomorrow is to a dentist, not a new toothpaste, ours included.
If it is sensitivity, how soon can a desensitising paste make a difference?
Within days in the trials that looked early, and within minutes of a single application in a few of them, almost all paid for by the companies whose actives they tested; every one of those numbers is sensitivity set off by air or a probe in screened adults, which is a different thing from nerve pain. For the everyday routine around sensitive teeth, the Journal has a general guide to stopping sensitive teeth pain and a short piece on why teeth can suddenly become sensitive.
The stimulus is built into how these trials are run. The consensus guidelines for dentine hypersensitivity trials ask for a touch, cold or air stimulus, a negative and a benchmark control, and a duration of eight weeks for most trials21. A person whose tooth aches on its own would not be enrolled in them.
Two brushing trials looked as early as day three. In a double-blind randomised trial of 120 adults funded by Procter & Gamble, with seven of its eight authors employed by the company, pastes with potassium nitrate or stannous fluoride reduced sensitivity to cold air more than a plain fluoride paste at day three, the first visit; on the probe test the stannous fluoride paste separated at day three and the potassium nitrate paste not until week two10. An examiner-blind randomised trial of a bioactive-glass paste, sponsored and funded by Haleon, which makes it, found a difference from a standard fluoride paste at day three in 215 adults that kept growing to day 5622.
A handful of trials went further and looked at sensitivity minutes after a single application, and how the paste went on matters to how they read. In a three-day double-blind randomised trial of 120 adults, an 8% arginine paste applied once, directly to the sensitive teeth, reduced sensitivity to a probe and to air straight afterwards more than a potassium paste or a plain fluoride paste did; the trial's record does not state its funding, and its authors include scientists employed by the company that makes the arginine paste6. A companion randomised study in 84 adults, co-authored by scientists employed by the same company, had no control paste and found the same immediate change from baseline whichever of two application methods was used23.
Stannous fluoride has a single-use result from brushing rather than direct application. In three examiner-blind randomised studies funded by GSK Consumer Healthcare, which developed the formula, 656 adults either brushed two chosen sensitive teeth first with an experimental water-free stannous fluoride paste and then the rest of the mouth, or brushed normally with a regular fluoride paste; after that one brushing, sensitivity to air and probe fell further with the stannous fluoride paste in two of the three studies, and after three days it did in all three7.
The one early measurement this page found whose record names no company comes from a university in Bangkok. In a double-blind randomised trial of 45 people with sensitivity after deep cleaning for gum disease, bioactive-glass and arginine pastes applied to the sensitive teeth reduced sensitivity to cold air straight afterwards, although about half of those people were still sensitive after that first application8.
Set those beside the systematic review that grouped treatments by when they first worked, and the picture does not line up. That 2019 systematic review of 74 trials placed only treatments applied in the dental chair in its first-week group, stannous fluoride and hydroxyapatite in its one-month group, and potassium nitrate and arginine only among the longer-term results9. The industry-funded single trials above found differences from day three, and after one use, for some of the same actives107. The two are not asking the same question: the review grouped each treatment's change from its own starting point across many trials, while the single trials set an active paste against a control paste at time points chosen to look early. This page reports both and does not average them.
At two weeks there is a larger pooled answer. A 2026 systematic review and network meta-analysis of 93 trials rated stannous fluoride's reduction in cold-air sensitivity, set against a standard fluoride paste, as the one high-confidence result for any desensitising paste; arginine's was large with low confidence, nano-hydroxyapatite's large with moderate confidence from two studies, and potassium's small with low confidence24. The same systematic review notes that most of the trials behind it were industry funded, including 96% of the stannous fluoride trials24.
Hydroxyapatite pastes, as far as this page could find, have not been measured early at all. In a double-blind randomised trial of 105 adults, a fluoride-free 15% nano-hydroxyapatite paste reduced cold-air and touch sensitivity more than a fluoride paste or a placebo at two weeks, the first time anyone was measured, and the record does not state who funded it25. A double-blind randomised trial funded by a maker of nano-hydroxyapatite toothpastes also first measured at two weeks, and its pastes with 10% or 15% nano-hydroxyapatite, one of them with potassium nitrate added, reduced sensitivity from baseline at every visit, with no placebo or plain fluoride arm to compare against26. That second trial included a paste pairing nano-hydroxyapatite with potassium nitrate, and because its first visit came at week two it cannot say anything about the first night either.
The table sets the time points side by side, with who paid for each study. Treatments applied in the dental chair are the other early row, and the section on the appointment returns to them. The last row is S3, with its actives and the plain fact that no onset figure has been published for it.
| Active, and how it was used | First time point measured | Earliest difference from a control | Stimulus | Design, size, who paid | What it does not show |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arginine paste (8%), one application directly on the sensitive teeth | Minutes after the application | Straight after it, against a potassium paste and a plain fluoride paste | Probe and air | Double-blind randomised trial, 120 adults, three days; the record states no funding, and the authors include scientists employed by the paste's maker6 | Ordinary brushing; an ache that throbs or lingers |
| The same arginine paste, one application, two application methods compared | Minutes after the application | No control paste: change from each tooth's own starting point | Probe and air | Randomised study, 84 adults, co-authored by scientists employed by the same maker23 | Any difference from a control paste; ordinary brushing |
| Stannous fluoride paste, water-free, brushed onto two sensitive teeth first | After one brushing | After one brushing in two of three studies; at day 3 in all three | Air and probe | Three examiner-blind randomised studies, 656 adults; funded by GSK Consumer Healthcare, which developed the formula7 | Whole-mouth brushing alone; anything after day 3 |
| Bioactive-glass or arginine paste, applied after deep cleaning for gum disease | Straight after the application | Cold-air score fell straight away with both; about half still sensitive | Air, probe and a pain scale | Double-blind randomised trial, 45 people, Chulalongkorn University; the record names no company8 | People who have not just had gum treatment; the between-group test at that visit |
| Potassium nitrate paste, brushed twice a day | Day 3 | Day 3 on cold air; week 2 on the probe | Cold air and probe | Double-blind randomised trial, 120 adults; funded by Procter & Gamble10 | Anything in the first hours |
| Stannous fluoride paste, brushed twice a day | Day 3 | Day 3 on both measures; at 2 weeks, the one high-confidence pooled result in a systematic review and network meta-analysis of 93 trials, most of them industry funded24 | Cold air and probe | The same double-blind randomised trial, 120 adults, funded by Procter & Gamble10 | Anything in the first hours |
| Bioactive-glass paste, brushed twice a day | Day 3 | Day 3, growing to day 56 | Air and probe | Examiner-blind randomised trial, 215 adults; sponsored and funded by Haleon, which makes it22 | Anything before day 3; what happens after stopping |
| Nano-hydroxyapatite paste, brushed twice a day | Week 2 | Week 2, against fluoride and placebo (15%, fluoride-free) | Cold air, touch and a pain scale | Double-blind randomised trial, 105 adults, funding not stated in the record25; double-blind randomised trial funded by a maker of nano-hydroxyapatite toothpastes, no placebo arm26 | Anything before week 2 |
| Treatments applied in the dental chair (varnishes, adhesives, laser and others) | Varies by trial | Within 7 days in a systematic review of 74 trials grouped by follow-up9; from 7 to 15 days in a six-month trial | Air, with a pain scale | Six-month randomised trial, 42 adults, public funding27 | A ranking between them; anything about a toothpaste |
| S3: 5% potassium nitrate, nano-hydroxyapatite and biomimetic hydroxyapatite (10% and 5% as supplied; the active content is lower) and 1450 ppm fluoride, brushed twice a day | No onset figure for the finished product has been published | Not measured | Not measured | Judged at two to four weeks, in S3's own wording; the nearest evidence is the potassium nitrate and nano-hydroxyapatite rows | Any effect tonight, or on pain that throbs or lingers |
What do the "relief" ranges on the shelf say about themselves?
Two ranges on the UK shelf carry a speed word next to "relief" in their names, and what each brand states about its formula points to a row in the table above, not to a result for tonight. This page compares ingredients and stated actions only, not clinical performance, based on what each brand states about its own formula. Prices and formulations may change; always check the pack.
Sensodyne Rapid Relief is a water-free paste whose Boots listing declares 0.454% stannous fluoride, with sodium fluoride bringing the total to 1450 ppm, at £5.30 for 75 ml as shown on the ninth of September 2026, and the listing says its formula acts to create a barrier over sensitive areas of the teeth. On its own UK product page, read on the tenth of September 2026, Sensodyne states that with twice-daily brushing the paste relieves sensitivity pain in 60 seconds, and the page names no study, design or number of participants beside that figure. A PubMed search the same day, pairing stannous fluoride and hypersensitivity with the phrases sixty seconds, one minute or single application, returned two records, and neither tested that wording. The nearest published work this page found is the set of single-brushing studies in the table, which tested an experimental water-free stannous fluoride formula rather than a named product and were funded by GSK Consumer Healthcare7.
Colgate Sensitive Instant Relief Enamel Repair and Colgate Sensitive Instant Relief Multi Protection sit on the same Boots shelf at £4.50 each, with different actives. The Enamel Repair listing describes Pro-Argin technology that helps to seal and repair sensitive areas, while the ingredient list on the same listing shows calcium carbonate and a zinc salt and no arginine, with 1450 ppm fluoride as sodium monofluorophosphate. The Multi Protection listing names potassium nitrate, at a level it does not state, says the ingredient soothes the nerves in exposed dentine, and declares 1450 ppm fluoride as sodium fluoride. Two 100 ml tubes in the same range declare 8% arginine, and their listings say the Pro-Argin technology plugs the tubules and, over time, builds a protective barrier.
Colgate Sensitive Repair & Prevent + Gentle Whitening, the paste that declares 8% arginine at 75 ml, puts its one-minute wording under a footnote that describes an application directly to the sensitive area, alongside a line about repairing sensitive areas with continued use twice a day.
| Paste on the Boots shelf | Active the listing declares | Fluoride | What the brand says it does | Row in the table above | Price as shown |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sensodyne Rapid Relief (Original), 75 ml | Stannous fluoride 0.454%, water-free base | 1450 ppm | Creates a barrier over sensitive areas; the brand's own page states 60 seconds with twice-daily brushing and names no study | Stannous fluoride rows | £5.30 (9 September 2026) |
| Colgate Sensitive Instant Relief Enamel Repair, 75 ml | The listing names Pro-Argin; its ingredient list shows no arginine | 1450 ppm | Helps to seal and repair sensitive areas | Check the pack for arginine before using the arginine rows | £4.50 (9 September 2026) |
| Colgate Sensitive Instant Relief Multi Protection, 75 ml | Potassium nitrate, level not stated | 1450 ppm | Soothes the nerves in exposed dentine | Potassium nitrate row | £4.50 (9 September 2026) |
| Colgate Sensitive Repair & Prevent + Gentle Whitening, 75 ml | Arginine 8% | 1450 ppm | Seals and repairs sensitive areas; one-minute wording footnoted to a direct application | Arginine rows | £8.00 (9 September 2026) |
Read against the onset table, the potassium nitrate listing belongs to the potassium nitrate row, the arginine pastes to the arginine rows, and the stannous fluoride paste to the stannous fluoride rows. None of those rows measured an ache that throbs, lingers or wakes someone, whatever the name on the tube.
Where does S3 sit if your pain is the sharp, brief kind?
Only there, and only as a daily paste: S3 is judged at two to four weeks, the way relief that builds brush by brush has to be judged, and it is not something for tonight.
The formula is built around two jobs. In one daily toothpaste, S3 puts 5% potassium nitrate together with nano-hydroxyapatite, biomimetic hydroxyapatite and 1450 ppm fluoride. Each active has its own place: potassium works on the nerve, nano-hydroxyapatite inside the tubule and biomimetic hydroxyapatite on the surface, and none of the three can do another's work. S3 gives its hydroxyapatites as 10% and 5%, which are inclusion levels of each ingredient as supplied; the active hydroxyapatite content is lower, and S3 publishes both figures.
The ingredient list is also uncommon on the UK shelf. In a count of 51 sensitivity toothpastes on sale in the UK in September 2026, S3 is the only one whose published ingredient list names potassium nitrate, hydroxyapatite and a fluoride salt together; the category review of UK sensitivity toothpastes by ingredient lists every product with its source. The nearest row, Spotlight Sensitivity + Rebuilding Pro, has hydroxyapatite and 1450 ppm fluoride but uses potassium citrate in place of potassium nitrate. Being alone on an ingredient list says nothing about how well or how soon a paste works, and this page does not suggest it does.
Three findings elsewhere on this page cut the other way, and they belong here. The effects measured within minutes of using a desensitising paste that this page found came from arginine and stannous fluoride, in trials funded by, or co-authored by scientists employed by, the makers of those pastes, and S3 contains neither active67. In a double-blind trial that measured potassium nitrate at day three, S3's nerve active had not separated from a plain fluoride paste on the probe test, and did not until week two; that trial was funded by Procter & Gamble10. At two weeks, the highest-confidence pooled result for any desensitising paste belongs to stannous fluoride, which S3 does not contain, in a systematic review and network meta-analysis24.
What that leaves for S3 is the person whose pain is short, sharp and tied to a trigger, who wants a daily paste working on the nerve and on the open tubules, and who is prepared to judge it over weeks. The page on how long to give a new sensitivity toothpaste and the page on why relief builds over weeks cover how to judge one fairly.
What can a dentist or hygienist do at the appointment?
Two different things, depending on the door you came through. For an inflamed pulp or an infection, the dentist deals with the cause: the NHS describes draining an abscess, root canal treatment or taking the tooth out, under local anaesthetic4, and on the NHS in England an urgent appointment can include a temporary filling and emergency partial root canal treatment28.
For sensitivity, a dentist or hygienist can put a desensitising treatment on the tooth, and in the systematic review that grouped treatments by follow-up these were the only group to reach significance within the first week9. A 2013 systematic review and network meta-analysis of 40 studies found that professionally applied treatments which block the tubules, laser treatment and combined treatments each beat placebo, while the nerve-desensitising group did not reach significance, and the five kinds did not differ significantly from one another29. In a six-month randomised trial of 42 adults, four such treatments all reduced sensitivity, starting at seven to fifteen days depending on the agent, with no placebo arm to separate the treatment from the passing of time27. The page on what a dentist checks for sensitive teeth covers the examination, the page on whether a hygienist can help covers varnish and cleaning, and a separate page on desensitising treatments at the dentist will set out the options in full.
How do you get seen tomorrow, and what will it cost?
Start with your own dental practice, tonight as well as tomorrow, because a closed practice's answerphone message may tell you where to go1. No dentist, or no emergency slot? Ring NHS 111 or go to 111 online, which has a route for dental help, and ask practices near you whether they will see you as an emergency130. NHS 111 online covers England, and Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland each have their own route from the same page30.
The NHS says urgent dental treatment should be offered within 24 hours or 7 days, depending on your symptoms, and that a pharmacist can advise on painkillers and on toothache while you wait2.
On the NHS in England, as shown on nhs.uk on the tenth of September 2026, urgent dental treatment costs £27.90, and the charges can change28. The page on free and low-cost NHS dental options sets out who pays what and how the routes work.
And if a sign from the first row of the door table appears overnight, the door changes whatever the hour: call 999 or go to A&E, and do not drive yourself there14.
Frequently asked questions
Will S3 stop tooth nerve pain tonight?
No. S3 is a daily toothpaste that brings together 5% potassium nitrate, two forms of hydroxyapatite and 1450 ppm fluoride, and it is judged at two to four weeks, not overnight. A pain that wakes you, throbs or lingers after the trigger is one for a dentist or NHS 111, not for a paste32.
Should I take antibiotics for a toothache?
Not as a painkiller, and not unless a dentist or doctor decides you need them. NICE's summary says antibiotics are generally not indicated for otherwise healthy people whose infection is not spreading, and keeps them for people who are unwell, show signs of severe infection or are at high risk of complications12. For the pain of an inflamed pulp, the Cochrane review found one small trial and could not say whether antibiotics reduce it11.
Does rubbing sensitivity toothpaste on the tooth work?
The trials that measured sensitivity minutes after a single application put an arginine paste directly on sensitive teeth under study conditions, measured the response to a probe and a puff of air, and were co-authored by scientists employed by the company that makes the paste623. They did not test a tooth that throbs or aches on its own. This page gives no instruction for any toothpaste beyond brushing it as the pack directs.
Can I go to A&E with toothache?
Only with the signs the NHS lists: swelling around the eye or in the neck, or swelling that makes it hard to breathe, swallow or speak, and, with a dental abscess, a lot of swelling in the mouth or a mouth that is hard to open14. Do not drive; ask someone to take you or call 9991. For everything else the door is your practice or NHS 111, and 111 can tell you which door if you are unsure2.
What is the fastest-acting desensitising ingredient?
Arginine applied directly to the tooth and stannous fluoride brushed onto the sensitive teeth first have differences measured after a single use, in trials funded by, or co-authored by scientists employed by, their makers67. A small university trial found an early change for arginine and bioactive glass applied after gum treatment8. Brushed twice a day, stannous fluoride and bioactive glass show differences from day three, and potassium nitrate from day three on cold air only, in trials funded by the companies behind those pastes, while hydroxyapatite was first measured at two weeks102225. None of those measurements was of nerve pain, and none of them makes a paste something to rely on tonight.
Where S3 sits
For the sharp, brief kind of pain, the purchase that makes sense is a daily paste that works on the nerve and on the open tubules, and S3 is one to judge at two to four weeks, not overnight. Hydroxyapatite occludes and potassium desensitises, neither does the other's job, and that is why S3 carries both. For every other kind of pain on this page, the useful purchase tonight is a painkiller and the useful step tomorrow is a phone call.
S3 Sensitivity Science™ pairs potassium nitrate with two hydroxyapatites and adult-strength fluoride in one daily paste.
See the toothpasteS3 Sensitivity Science™ makes a single daily toothpaste in which 5% potassium nitrate, for the nerve, sits alongside nano-hydroxyapatite and biomimetic hydroxyapatite (10% and 5%, both as solution) and full adult-strength fluoride. The formula is built to calm the nerve, strengthen the enamel surface and protect it against further wear. It is filed as patent-pending S3 Repair Technology™, UK application GB2604755.5. More than 20 practising UK dentists are among the owners of S3. Read more about S3.