The toothpaste
Guide

From single-action to triple-action: what changes when a toothpaste addresses all three things sensitive teeth need.

What changes when a toothpaste moves from single-action to triple-action is how many of a sensitive tooth's problems it can work on at once, and very little else: not the speed, not the certainty of the result, not the routine you have to keep. Whether the extra actives are worth anything has been put to the one test that can settle it — the same paste run with and without one of them — and this page reports every result of that shape it could find, including the parts that do not flatter a three-active formula. S3 Sensitivity Science™ declares three actives for three jobs: potassium nitrate for the nerve, nano-hydroxyapatite inside the tubule, biomimetic hydroxyapatite on the surface.

What was checked21 peer-reviewed studies, S3 consumer trial (ADSL, 2026), S3 laboratory testing at the University of Reading, an ingredient scan of UK sensitivity toothpastes, and guidance from the Oral Health Foundation and the NHS

Key points
  • Of the 49 sensitivity toothpastes whose published ingredient lists our category scan had read in September 2026, 36 name a single desensitising active class and six name two.
  • Where a trial has run the same toothpaste with and without one extra active, the version carrying the extra active usually came out ahead: at four and eight weeks in an industry-funded randomised trial of 127 adults5, and at every measured point in a fourteen-day randomised trial whose record never says how many people took part6.
  • In the trial closest to this formula's shape, nano-hydroxyapatite toothpastes with or without potassium nitrate were as effective as calcium sodium phosphosilicate; the potassium-carrying version pulled ahead of the version without it on some stimuli and weeks and not others, and the pastes were made and paid for by their manufacturer8.
  • The newest network meta-analysis of 93 randomised trials and 9,548 participants could estimate one potassium-plus-occluder node, it rested on a single study, its interval crossed zero, and the class with the highest-confidence result in it is one this formula does not carry4.
  • No published trial has tested S3's own combination — potassium nitrate, two forms of hydroxyapatite and sodium monofluorophosphate — as a finished toothpaste against anything.

What does "single-action" actually mean on a sensitivity toothpaste?

It means one ingredient doing one thing, and the tube reaching the ceiling of that one thing. A scoping review that catalogued 368 toothpaste formulations across 138 randomised trials found potassium compounds in 68 of them, calcium sodium phosphosilicate in 37, arginine in 29, strontium in 28, stannous fluoride in 21 and hydroxyapatite in nine — one active per formula in the great majority, with a further 19 formulations carrying a potassium salt alongside a second ingredient1. The shelf looks the same. Of the 49 sensitivity toothpastes whose published ingredient lists our category review of UK sensitivity toothpastes by declared ingredient had read by 10 September 2026, 36 name one desensitising active class, six name two, and seven name none that the scan could identify.

There is a reason formulators keep reaching for a second ingredient, and it is not the front of the box. A UK guideline review written for general dental practice puts it plainly: there does not currently appear to be one ideal desensitising agent that can be recommended2. That is the honest starting point for this page. Nobody has the one answer, which is why several makers have added a second ingredient — and why, unusually for this category, a few of them then ran the comparison that shows what the addition bought.

What are the three actions, and which active does which?

Calm the nerve, work inside the tubule, protect the surface. The first two are the two halves of a sensitive tooth: a nerve that fires too readily, and dentine tubules that are open. The third is the surface those tubules sit in, which keeps wearing and keeps opening new ones. Hydroxyapatite occludes and potassium desensitises, and neither does the other's job, which is the only argument for putting both in one tube that does not depend on counting.

The division of labour is declared on the pack. The nano form is under 100 nm, rod-shaped and crystalline, sized for the tubule opening; the biomimetic form is around two microns and less crystalline, sized to stay on the surface. Potassium chloride is a second potassium source alongside the nitrate. The percentages need reading carefully, and S3 states both halves: 10% nano-hydroxyapatite and 5% biomimetic hydroxyapatite are inclusion levels of the ingredient as supplied, and the active hydroxyapatite content is lower. The companion page on potassium nitrate and hydroxyapatite in one tube works through the pairing as ingredient science; the page on why a sensitive tooth has two problems and not one and the Journal's article on the two causes of sensitive teeth set out the two halves for a reader who has not met them.

JobActive that does itWhat the published evidence shows, with its certaintyWhat that active cannot doS3's declared level, and its basis
Calm the nervePotassium nitrateTactile SMD 1.23 against a fluoride toothpaste, moderate certainty, in the 2020 network meta-analysis3Occlude a tubule. The salt seals nothing; where a potassium paste does close tubules, the credit belongs to the base around it5% w/w, the concentration the placebo-controlled toothpaste trials used
Work inside the tubuleNano-hydroxyapatiteSchiff −0.96 against a benchmark fluoride toothpaste at two weeks, moderate confidence on two contributing studies, in the 2026 network meta-analysis4Act on the nerve. A PubMed search in September 2026 for a neural effect of the mineral in dentine hypersensitivity returned seven records and none that reports one10% as supplied, with a lower active content in the tube
Protect the surfaceBiomimetic hydroxyapatitePlaced in the medium-term and long-term windows, not the immediate one, by a systematic review of desensitising treatments19Stop wear that is still happening, or replace a filling where the surface has already gone5% as supplied, with a lower active content in the tube
Protect against decaySodium monofluorophosphateA caries active with its own record: put against hydroxyapatite-fluoride pastes in a triple-blind randomised trial of 610 children21Relieve sensitivity. Monofluorophosphate carries no sensitivity claim on this page, and should carry none anywhere1450 ppm, as sodium monofluorophosphate

S3 holds its potassium nitrate at 5%, a clinically proven 5% dose, and keeps full adult-strength fluoride at 1450 ppm rather than dropping it the way several hydroxyapatite pastes do.

Does adding a second active add an effect? Here is what the trials that changed one thing found

Usually yes, by a margin that is real and smaller than the packaging implies, and once with a result that runs the other way. Six randomised trials have changed one thing at a time, or something close to it; the table at the end of this section carries all six, and they are worth reading one at a time rather than as a total.

The cleanest is the newest. In an industry-funded double-blind trial of 127 adults, published by the manufacturer's own employees, a toothpaste with 5% potassium nitrate ran against a toothpaste with 5% potassium nitrate plus 2.18% aluminium lactate and against a placebo; both beat the placebo from two weeks, and the two-active paste beat the one-active paste at four weeks on air stimulation and at eight weeks on both stimuli5. A UK examiner-blind trial had pointed the same way, with a paste carrying aluminium lactate, potassium nitrate and hydroxylapatite reducing sensitivity more than a potassium nitrate control at every time point, and relative risk reductions on the Schiff score of 55% immediately after brushing, 81% at seven days and 88.6% at fourteen; its abstract does not state how many people took part, and its test paste changed two ingredients at once, so nothing in it can be credited to the hydroxyapatite by itself6. Third, and older, a double-blind trial in 67 randomised adults with 57 analysed held the fluoride constant and added 5.53% potassium citrate to a monofluorophosphate paste: the fall in cold-air pain was larger with the potassium at four weeks and the patients' own ratings separated at eight7.

Then the one that matters most here, because it is the closest published comparison to the shape of this formula. An eight-week double-blind randomised trial in 85 adults, sponsored by the maker of the hydroxyapatite pastes it tested, ran 10% and 15% nano-hydroxyapatite with and without 5% potassium nitrate against a calcium sodium phosphosilicate comparator8. Its full text, rather than its abstract, is where the detail sits: in that manufacturer-sponsored trial the paste carrying potassium eased cold-stimulus sensitivity further than the same paste without it at weeks two, four and six though not at week eight, and eased air-stimulus sensitivity further at weeks four, six and eight, while never differing from the calcium sodium phosphosilicate comparator at any point8. Adding the nerve active did something measurable to the mineral paste, and it did not lift the mineral paste above a good single-active tube. Both halves of that sentence belong on this page.

Fifth, a four-week double-blind trial in 100 adults, run without industry money, found that a toothpaste combining hydroxyapatite, potassium citrate, zinc citrate and 1450 ppm fluoride left patients reporting less sensitivity than a plain 1450 ppm fluoride toothpaste — on a custom questionnaire rather than an instrument reading, which is the trial's weak point and has to travel with the result9. The sixth changed the fluoride salt instead of adding an active, and it is the one that runs against this formula; the section on what changes inside the tube takes it in full.

Two more sit outside the single-variable design altogether. An eight-week double-blind trial in 91 randomised adults, 88 analysed, showed that a three-active paste can be put through a proper blinded comparison at all: paeonol, potassium nitrate and strontium chloride against a placebo, with the tactile threshold and the Schiff score both separating at eight weeks11. It has no single-active arm, so it says nothing about what the third active added; it says only that a multi-active formula is a testable object rather than a description11.

The same question has also been asked of stacked treatments rather than stacked ingredients. A four-arm double-blind trial randomised 80 teeth to a low-level laser or a sham, each with or without an 8% strontium acetate toothpaste, and the arm that got both had the best response at the seventh-day assessment12. That is a combination of a professional treatment with a paste, not of two ingredients, and it is one week of data. It is included because the design is the right one and because so few people run it.

What was comparedDesign, size and durationWhat it foundFunding as declared, and the source
5% potassium nitrate against the same paste plus 2.18% aluminium lactate, and against a placeboDouble-blind randomised trial, 127 adults, 8 weeksBoth test pastes ahead of the placebo from two weeks; the two-active paste ahead of the one-active paste at four weeks on air and at eight weeks on both stimuliIndustry-funded: the authors are employees of, or grant-funded by, the maker5
A potassium nitrate control paste against a paste with aluminium lactate, potassium nitrate and hydroxylapatiteExaminer-blind randomised trial, 14 days; the record never says how many people took partThe three-active paste ahead at every time point on every tooth-level measure; Schiff relative risk reduction 55% immediately, 81% at seven days, 88.6% at fourteenNo funding statement in the record6
A 0.76% monofluorophosphate paste against the same paste plus 5.53% potassium citrateDouble-blind randomised trial, 8 weeks, 67 randomised and 57 analysedCold-air pain fell further with the potassium at four weeks (1.12 against 0.32), and the patients' own rating at eight weeks (1.59 against 0.24)No funding statement in the record7
10% nano-hydroxyapatite against 10% nano-hydroxyapatite plus 5% potassium nitrate, both against calcium sodium phosphosilicateDouble-blind randomised trial, 85 adults across four arms, 8 weeksThe potassium-carrying paste ahead of the paste without it on cold at weeks two, four and six and on air at weeks four, six and eight, not on cold at week eight; no separation from the comparator at any pointSponsored by the manufacturer of the test pastes8
A 1450 ppm fluoride paste against a paste with hydroxyapatite, potassium citrate, zinc citrate and the same fluorideDouble-blind randomised trial, 100 adults, 4 weeksLower self-reported sensitivity with the multi-active paste; plaque and gingival indices no differentNone declared9
The same 5% potassium nitrate carried by sodium monofluorophosphate in one paste and by 0.454% stannous fluoride in the otherExaminer-blind randomised trial, 8 weeks, 101 completing per protocolThe stannous fluoride paste reduced tactile and air-blast sensitivity significantly further, at four weeks and at eightNo funding statement in the record10

Read down that table and the pattern is narrow rather than sweeping. Every one of these comparisons puts a particular pair of ingredients in a particular base and measures what happens. None of them supports a general rule about the number of actives, and in the last row changing one ingredient moved the result the wrong way for the salt this formula uses, in a comparison whose record carries no funding statement10.

What do the pooled analyses say about combinations, and how sure are they?

Two large syntheses answer this, and they disagree in a way that is worth printing rather than averaging. The 2020 network meta-analysis of 125 randomised trials and 12,541 patients gives potassium combined with hydroxyapatite a large effect against a fluoride toothpaste on both the tactile stimulus (SMD 2.47) and the air stimulus (2.44), with moderate certainty; it is the strongest pooled result that exists for the shape of this formula3. The supplementary appendix to that meta-analysis says what the node is made of: two randomised trials and 140 patients, downgraded for imprecision, against twelve trials and 1,724 patients behind the stannous fluoride node3. Two trials is not a literature.

The 2026 systematic review and network meta-analysis of 93 randomised trials and 9,548 participants has no potassium-plus-hydroxyapatite node at all4. Its one combination node, potassium with stannous fluoride, gives a Schiff difference of −0.75 with an interval running from −1.54 to 0.04 on a single contributing study, rated low confidence, while stannous fluoride alone reaches −0.85 on ten studies and is the only high-confidence node in the network4. Its authors conclude that stannous fluoride and arginine should be first-line self-care options, with the choice guided by preference, tolerability and availability rather than an expectation of superior efficacy4. Neither class is in S3's formula. That sentence costs this page something, and it stays, because the review says it and a reader deciding what to buy is entitled to the whole of it. The same review records how much of the field is paid for by the people selling it: 96% of the stannous studies, 86% of the arginine studies and 76% of the potassium studies were industry funded4.

The older syntheses fill in the class-level picture and do not agree with each other either. A meta-analysis of 31 randomised trials put combined potassium-and-stannous pastes at an SMD of −2.50 against placebo, and reported heterogeneity of 86 to 95% across the trials it pooled, which leaves that figure usable as a direction and not as a size13. A systematic review of 53 randomised trials in 4,796 patients found the actives beat a toothpaste with no desensitiser in it, with the potassium-plus-stannous group sitting in the low or very low quality band14. A network meta-analysis of 30 randomised trials found no significant difference between potassium and placebo, and a significant placebo effect throughout15. A meta-analysis of nine randomised trials found potassium nitrate showed a tendency towards pain relief without reaching significance16. So anyone who tells you the pooled evidence has settled this question has not read all of it.

What changes inside the tube?

The base, the fluoride salt, and what each of those two choices costs. Potassium nitrate has to dissolve to do anything, so the paste needs water. A bioactive glass reacts with water, so a formula built around one has to be water-free. S3 is water-based, which is what lets it carry potassium nitrate alongside hydroxyapatite; a formula built around bioactive glass cannot. That is a statement about chemistry and about what the ingredient lists on the shelf show, not a verdict on anyone's competence, and it stops where the chemistry stops: it does not extend to stannous fluoride, and toothpastes pairing a potassium salt with stannous fluoride exist and have been pooled in a meta-analysis of 31 randomised trials13.

The fluoride is the harder paragraph, and it is the one this page will not soften. One examiner-blind randomised trial, with 101 subjects completing per protocol, held 5% potassium nitrate constant in both of its pastes and changed nothing but the fluoride salt: the paste carrying 0.454% stannous fluoride reduced tactile and air-blast sensitivity significantly further than the paste carrying 0.76% sodium monofluorophosphate — the salt S3 uses — at four weeks and at eight, and the record for it carries no funding statement10. Both pastes were on sale a quarter of a century ago, and neither is the same thing on the shelf today. S3 chose sodium monofluorophosphate because that salt does not react with the calcium in hydroxyapatite inside the tube.

What has been tested on the three-active formula S3 sells, and what has not?

The gap first, because it is the most useful thing on this page. Nothing published has put potassium nitrate, hydroxyapatite and fluoride together in a finished toothpaste and measured it against a comparator — not S3's formula, and not anyone else's. Two PubMed searches were run for this page in September 2026: toothpaste or dentifrice with potassium nitrate and hydroxyapatite for dentine hypersensitivity returned six records, and the same search with fluoride added returned three, none of them a test of that trio as a product. The nearest published things are three, and each falls short in a different way. A three-month randomised trial in 28 adults used a home paste with 10% hydroxyapatite, potassium nitrate and fluoride, but only after weekly professional applications of a stronger paste, and it had no placebo arm17. A commercial paste with nano-hydroxyapatite, potassium nitrate, monofluorophosphate and antioxidants was written up as a single-arm before-and-after clinical study with no control group and no participant count in its record18. And the closest in shape is the manufacturer-sponsored comparison already described, whose combination arm was a different mineral formulation from this one8.

What exists in place of that trial is ingredient evidence, one laboratory study and one consumer trial, and none of the three is a substitute. In laboratory testing, within 24 hours, S3 had covered 19% more of the dentine surface than the market leader — 100% of tubules occluded against 84%, or 1.2 times as many. That work used one tooth per formulation, which is a real limit and not a footnote: a single specimen cannot tell you about variation between teeth, and no laboratory measurement of a tubule tells you what a person feels. S3's own commissioned consumer trial recruited users of the market-leading sensitivity toothpaste, and after four weeks with S3, 90% of them reported that their teeth felt less sensitive in the situations that normally trigger discomfort. That is what panellists said about how they felt, from a trial S3 paid for, and it is a perception measure rather than a clinical one.

So the case for the formula rests on what each active is for and at what level it is declared, and it can be checked against the pack. It does not rest on an outcome measured on the finished paste, because that outcome does not exist yet.

What does not change, whatever is in the tube?

The clock, the routine, the referral rule and the price. A systematic review of 74 randomised trials and 5,366 patients grouped desensitising treatments by when their reduction first reached significance: only in-office treatments — glutaraldehyde with HEMA, glass ionomer cements, laser — showed a significant reduction inside seven days, hydroxyapatite appears in the medium-term and long-term windows, and potassium nitrate appears in the long-term window alone19. Relief that builds over weeks is how these actives work, and S3 is judged at two to four weeks. Counting the actives does not shorten that, and nothing published measures a multi-active paste working sooner than a single-active one. If you are about to start a new tube, how long to give a new sensitivity toothpaste sets out a fair test.

The routine does not change either. The Oral Health Foundation names potassium citrate, potassium nitrate and stannous fluoride as the actives to look for on a pack, describes these toothpastes as working by blocking the tiny channels in dentine, and is explicit that the effect lasts only while you keep using them22. Morning and evening, spit rather than rinse, a soft brush and small circular movements, and an hour between an acidic drink and the next brush22. Unlike a single-active sensitivity paste, S3 is not a fortnight's treatment: it is the toothpaste you use every day.

There is also a size to the response that has nothing to do with the ingredients. In a six-month placebo-controlled crossover trial in 35 patients of a professionally applied calcium phosphate paste, the water placebo alone cut air-blast pain by 20% immediately and 36% at six months20. That was an in-office treatment rather than a toothpaste, so the figure is not a toothpaste result; it is the size of the response a new tube has to clear before anything can be credited to its actives20.

Then the two limits no formula removes. Severe pain, pain in a single tooth, pain that arrived suddenly, or sensitivity lasting more than a few weeks can mean decay, a cracked tooth, gum disease or infection, and the Oral Health Foundation sends each of those to a dentist22; the NHS says toothache lasting more than two days needs one23. And three actives cost more. S3 is £19.99 a tube, or £14.99 on subscription, against a chemist's own-label potassium nitrate toothpaste recorded at £1.00 for 100 ml in the same September 2026 scan; prices and formulations change, so check the pack and the site. Nothing in the trial evidence above tells you the difference is worth that multiple, and this page is not going to pretend otherwise.

So how should you judge a multi-active paste?

By asking four questions of the ingredient list, and then by running a fair test. Does the second active do a job the first one cannot, or is it a second version of the same job? Is its level declared, and on what basis — as supplied, or as active content? Does the formula keep fluoride, or ask you to give up decay protection to get the mineral? And what will you measure, and when? A comparison of the UK alternatives by active ingredient and the variant-by-variant range decoded will tell you what is in the tube you already own; the guide to switching covers what to do next.

Who a multi-active formula is for is a narrower answer than the marketing suggests: people whose current sensitivity toothpaste worked at first and then stopped, people who want hydroxyapatite without dropping fluoride, and people who would rather repair the surface than only numb the nerve. If none of those describes you, the tube you will actually keep using every morning and evening is the one that helps, whatever is in it.

Frequently asked questions

Is "triple action" just marketing for three ingredients?

It is marketing until each ingredient can be shown to do a job the others cannot, and for this formula that showing rests on mechanism, not on a measured head-to-head. Potassium acts on the nerve and seals no tubule; hydroxyapatite occludes and has no reported action on the nerve. The design that would settle it — one paste, its actives removed one at a time — has been run for other pairings, both times by the manufacturer of the pastes tested, and never for this one58. The comparison of what occlusion and nerve-calming can each do sets the two mechanisms side by side.

Has S3's own combination been tested in a published trial?

No, not as a finished product. What exists is evidence for the ingredients separately, one laboratory study on a single tooth per formulation, and a commissioned consumer trial whose figures are what panellists said rather than what an instrument measured. The nearest published work is a manufacturer-sponsored comparison of a different mineral formulation, a three-month regimen that gave the home paste only after professional applications, and a single-arm report with no control group at all81718.

Will a paste with three actives work faster than the one you are using?

Nothing measures that. In the systematic review that grouped treatments by when their effect first reached significance, only in-office treatments acted inside seven days, and potassium nitrate appears in the long-term window19. Expect the same judging period whatever the count of actives: a few weeks before anything is readable, and eight weeks before a fair verdict.

Can you get the same result by using two different toothpastes?

Nobody has tested it, so the honest answer is that it is unknown, and there is a practical reason to doubt it. Every active in this category depends on being applied continuously, and the guidance is that the effect lasts only while you keep using the paste22; alternating tubes halves the exposure to each. It also makes the result unreadable, because you can no longer tell which paste did what — which is the argument in how long to give a new sensitivity toothpaste.

Does a higher declared percentage mean a stronger paste?

Not on the published record, and the gap is worth stating. A PubMed search in September 2026 for dose-ranging or different-concentration work on desensitising toothpastes in dentine hypersensitivity returned nothing at all. In the manufacturer-sponsored eight-week trial that carried two strengths of the same mineral, the two strengths came apart at one point of eight, on a design that was never built to answer the question8. A percentage on a pack is an inclusion level, and for hydroxyapatite the active content is lower than the number printed — which is why the basis matters more than the figure. The Journal's article on how sensitive toothpastes work, and why yours might not be covers what else changes the answer.

Where S3 sits

Three actions only matter because a sensitive tooth has more than one thing wrong with it at the same time: a nerve that fires too readily, and dentine tubules that are open. S3 is the tube built on that premise — hydroxyapatite occludes, potassium desensitises, and neither does the other's job. Whether the premise has been honoured is checkable from the ingredient list rather than from the front of the box, because the levels are declared with their basis: the hydroxyapatite percentages are inclusion levels of the ingredient as supplied, and the active content is lower.

S3 Sensitivity Science™ pairs potassium nitrate with two hydroxyapatites and adult-strength fluoride in one daily paste.

See the toothpaste

S3 pairs a nerve-calming active, 5% potassium nitrate, with two forms of hydroxyapatite — 10% nano-hydroxyapatite and 5% biomimetic hydroxyapatite, both as solution — and full adult-strength fluoride, in one daily toothpaste. One tube, three actions: calming the nerve, strengthening the enamel surface, protecting against further wear. The formula is patent-pending S3 Repair Technology™, UK application GB2604755.5. More than 20 practising UK dentists own a stake in S3, and nine founding dentists advise on the formulation. Read more about S3.

References 23 sources

1
Martins CC, Riva JJ, Firmino RT, Schünemann HJ. Formulations of desensitizing toothpastes for dentin hypersensitivity: a scoping review. Journal of Applied Oral Science. 2022;30:e20210410. doi:10.1590/1678-7757-2021-0410 Systematic (scoping) review, 138 randomised trials and 368 formulations.
2
Gillam DG. A new perspective on dentine hypersensitivity: guidelines for general dental practice. Dental Update. 2017;44(1):33-42. doi:10.12968/denu.2017.44.1.33 Review, clinical guidance for UK general practice.
3
Martins CC, Firmino RT, Riva JJ, Ge L, Carrasco-Labra A, Brignardello-Petersen R, Colunga-Lozano LE, Granville-Garcia AF, Costa FO, Yepes-Nuñez JJ, Zhang Y, Schünemann HJ. Desensitizing toothpastes for dentin hypersensitivity: a network meta-analysis. Journal of Dental Research. 2020;99(5):514-522. doi:10.1177/0022034520903036 Systematic review and network meta-analysis, 125 randomised trials, 12,541 patients.
4
Gormley AJ, Walsh T, Twigg J, Farrugia C, Pollard A, Bullock B, West NX. Dentifrice formulations for the treatment of dentin hypersensitivity: a systematic review and network meta-analysis. Periodontology 2000. 2026. doi:10.1111/prd.70088 Systematic review and network meta-analysis, 93 randomised trials, 9,548 participants.
5
Ishii K, Suzuki T, Akabane C, Iizumi G, Suzuki N, Fukuda Y, Suzuki K, Kawaguchi N, Zhu R, Li D, Zhou Z, Hu D. Toothpastes containing potassium nitrate alone versus potassium nitrate combined with aluminum lactate in reducing dentin hypersensitivity: a randomized controlled trial. BDJ Open. 2026;12(1). doi:10.1038/s41405-026-00452-x Double-blind randomised controlled trial, 127 adults, three arms, 8 weeks.
6
Seong J, Newcombe RG, Foskett HL, Davies M, West NX. A randomised controlled trial to compare the efficacy of an aluminium lactate/potassium nitrate/hydroxylapatite toothpaste with a control toothpaste for the prevention of dentine hypersensitivity. Journal of Dentistry. 2021;108:103619. doi:10.1016/j.jdent.2021.103619 Examiner-blind randomised controlled trial, two arms, 14 days.
7
Liang Y, Rong WS, Wang WJ, Ge LH. A clinical study on the effectiveness of desensitizing toothpaste in patients with dentine hypersensitivity [in Chinese, English abstract]. Beijing Da Xue Xue Bao Yi Xue Ban. 2011;43(1):122-125. PMID 21321633. Double-blind randomised controlled trial, 67 randomised and 57 analysed, 8 weeks.
8
Amaechi BT, Lemke KC, Saha S, Luong MN, Gelfond J. Clinical efficacy of nanohydroxyapatite-containing toothpaste at relieving dentin hypersensitivity: an 8 weeks randomized control trial. BDJ Open. 2021;7(1):23. doi:10.1038/s41405-021-00080-7 Double-blind randomised controlled trial, 85 adults across four arms, 8 weeks; full text read at PMC8233401.
9
Josic U, Maravic T, Mazzitelli C, Rinaldi L, D'Alessandro C, D'Urso D, Pellegrino G, Mazzoni A, Breschi L. The clinical and microbiological efficacy of a zinc-citrate/hydroxyapatite/potassium-citrate containing toothpaste: a double-blind randomized controlled clinical trial. Clinical Oral Investigations. 2024;28(12):656. doi:10.1007/s00784-024-06052-z Double-blind randomised controlled trial, 100 adults, 4 weeks.
10
Schiff T, Bonta Y, Proskin HM, DeVizio W, Petrone M, Volpe AR. Desensitizing efficacy of a new dentifrice containing 5.0% potassium nitrate and 0.454% stannous fluoride. American Journal of Dentistry. 2000;13(Spec No):111-115. PMID 11763944. Examiner-blind randomised controlled trial, 101 completed per protocol, 8 weeks.
11
Li J, Han Q, Zhang L, Zhang J, Zhong Y. Efficacy of a toothpaste containing paeonol, potassium nitrate, and strontium chloride on dentine hypersensitivity: a double-blind randomized controlled trial in Chinese adults. Heliyon. 2023;9(4):e14634. doi:10.1016/j.heliyon.2023.e14634 Double-blind randomised controlled trial, 91 randomised and 88 analysed, 8 weeks.
12
Barros APO, de Melo Alencar C, de Melo Pingarilho Carneiro A, da Silva Pompeu D, Barbosa GM, Araújo JLN, Silva CM. Combination of two desensitizing protocols to control dentin hypersensitivity in non-carious lesions: a randomized, double-blind clinical trial. Clinical Oral Investigations. 2022;26(2):1299-1307. doi:10.1007/s00784-021-04104-2 Double-blind randomised controlled trial, four arms, 80 teeth.
13
Bae JH, Kim YK, Myung SK. Desensitizing toothpaste versus placebo for dentin hypersensitivity: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Journal of Clinical Periodontology. 2015;42(2):131-141. doi:10.1111/jcpe.12347 Systematic review and meta-analysis, 31 randomised trials.
14
Hu ML, Zheng G, Zhang YD, Yan X, Li XC, Lin H. Effect of desensitizing toothpastes on dentine hypersensitivity: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Journal of Dentistry. 2018;75:12-21. doi:10.1016/j.jdent.2018.05.012 Systematic review and meta-analysis, 53 randomised trials, 4,796 patients.
15
Hu ML, Zheng G, Lin H, Yang M, Zhang YD, Han JM. Network meta-analysis on the effect of desensitizing toothpastes on dentine hypersensitivity. Journal of Dentistry. 2019;88:103170. doi:10.1016/j.jdent.2019.07.008 Systematic review and network meta-analysis, 30 randomised trials.
16
Grünberg C, Bauer F, Crispin A, Jakob M, Hickel R, Draenert ME. Effectiveness of dentifrices with new formulations for the treatment of dentin hypersensitivity: a meta-analysis. American Journal of Dentistry. 2017;30(6):289-295. PMID 29178705. Systematic review and network meta-analysis, nine trials.
17
Wang L, Magalhães AC, Francisconi-Dos-Rios LF, Calabria MP, Araújo D, Buzalaf M, Lauris J, Pereira JC. Treatment of dentin hypersensitivity using nano-hydroxyapatite pastes: a randomized three-month clinical trial. Operative Dentistry. 2016;41(4):E93-E101. doi:10.2341/15-145-C Randomised controlled trial, 28 adults and 137 teeth, 3 months.
18
Low SB, Allen EP, Kontogiorgos ED. Reduction in dental hypersensitivity with nano-hydroxyapatite, potassium nitrate, sodium monoflurophosphate and antioxidants. The Open Dentistry Journal. 2015;9:92-97. doi:10.2174/1874364101509010092 Non-randomised single-arm clinical trial, sample size not stated in the abstract, 2 weeks.
19
Marto CM, Baptista Paula A, Nunes T, Pimenta M, Abrantes AM, Pires AS, Laranjo M, Coelho A, Donato H, Botelho MF, Marques Ferreira M, Carrilho E. Evaluation of the efficacy of dentin hypersensitivity treatments: a systematic review and follow-up analysis. Journal of Oral Rehabilitation. 2019;46(10):952-990. doi:10.1111/joor.12842 Systematic review, 74 randomised trials, 5,366 patients.
20
Mehta D, Gowda V, Finger WJ, Sasaki K. Randomized, placebo-controlled study of the efficacy of a calcium phosphate containing paste on dentin hypersensitivity. Dental Materials. 2015;31(11):1298-1305. doi:10.1016/j.dental.2015.08.162 Single-blind randomised placebo-controlled crossover trial, 35 patients, 6 months.
21
Cocco F, Salerno C, Wierichs RJ, Wolf TG, Arghittu A, Cagetti MG, Campus G. Hydroxyapatite-fluoride toothpastes on caries activity: a triple-blind randomized clinical trial. International Dental Journal. 2025;75(2):568-577. doi:10.1016/j.identj.2024.09.037 Triple-blind randomised controlled trial, 610 children, 24 months.
22
Oral Health Foundation. Sensitive teeth. https://www.dentalhealth.org/sensitive-teeth Accessed 2026-09-10.
23
NHS. Toothache. https://www.nhs.uk/symptoms/toothache/ Accessed 2026-09-10.